1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Certain websites recently stopped working

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ebonner, Sep 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ebonner

    ebonner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I have an HP Pavilion zv6000 and am running on Windows XP. Recently, some of my websites have stopped loading. In the bottom left hand corner it will just say "waiting on www._____.com", but will never load. Some websites include, yahoo, facebook, myspace, cbs, nfl, etc.

    I have looked up my hosts file, but there is nothing inside besides "127.0.0.1 localhost". The file size is ony 1 KB.

    Shouldn't I have numerous hosts files with IP addresses in the HOSTS file?

    Please help.
     
  2. xDatWun

    xDatWun

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    173
    What ISP are you using?

    • Go to Start, Run and type in "cmd".
    • Then from there type in "ipconfig /all"
    • Then type "ping ww.yahoo.ca"
    • Then type "ping 206.190.60.37"
    • Then copy and paste the results.
     
  3. ebonner

    ebonner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\Skurry>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PC270429458147
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.va.comcast.net.
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-A5-29-42-0B
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.va.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-B0-B9-34-09
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 69.143.52.255
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 69.143.48.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.73.12
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.73.242
    68.87.71.226
    68.87.64.196
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 20, 2008 5:42:47
    PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, September 23, 2008 6:59:23
    PM
    C:\Documents and Settings\Skurry>ping www.yahoo.com
    Pinging www.yahoo-ht3.akadns.net [69.147.76.15] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 69.147.76.15: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=52
    Reply from 69.147.76.15: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=52
    Reply from 69.147.76.15: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=52
    Reply from 69.147.76.15: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=52
    Ping statistics for 69.147.76.15:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 12ms, Maximum = 26ms, Average = 19ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Skurry>206.190.60.37
    '206.190.60.37' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
     
  4. xDatWun

    xDatWun

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    173
    I've noticed I made a mistake.
    Please refresh the page and see my original post ^_^
     
  5. Courtneyc

    Courtneyc

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,936
    By the way, no, there should not be anything else in your hosts file. In fact, if there was, more than likely, you'd have a virus or adware.

    Courtney
     
  6. ebonner

    ebonner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    okay, i've run all my virus scans. do you have any idea what else i could try? thanks!
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/751665

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice