1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Chaintech Motherboard Question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by thejokerking, Oct 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thejokerking

    thejokerking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    I just inherited a Chaintech 7AJA2 MoBo. It didn't have any documentation with it and the support on the Chaintech website is the usual "Don't call us, we'll call you." Now, the specs on the website claim that it only supports CPUs of 1 gig or lower. But, the bios update says that it can support 2400+ or 2600+. Also, the FAQs on this particular board say something about using a 2000+ as long as the correct changes to the jumpers are made. My question is this, will the processor I use with this board need to be <1000 or 2400+ or 2600+ OR can I use any CPU as long as it is slower than 2600+? Granted, this question is not very crucial considering the serious problems that some people have, but I surely would appreciate some advice from anyone who knows what they are doing or at least someone a bit more skilled at deciphering outdated web-specs.
     
  2. active95

    active95

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,276
    Originally the board supported 1 gig AMD, but with the latest BIOS update available for d/l , the supported AMD speed will be 2400+, 2600+.
    Basically flash the BIOS with the lastest update if you want to use a 2400+, 2600+ AMD.
    HTH
     
  3. thejokerking

    thejokerking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks man. But does that mean that anything in between 1 Gig and 2400+ won't work?
     
  4. suesman

    suesman

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    I would think it means anything up to a 2600+. I seen alot of combo deals with this MB using 1700+, 1900+ & 2000+.
     
  5. active95

    active95

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,276
    no no.. it means that the lowest cpu that can be used is 1 gig and the max will be 2600+
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,849
    First Name:
    Rob
    This motherboard will support ANY Socket A CPU UP TO a 2600+ as long as it runs on the 200 OR 266Mhz FSB Bus.
     
  7. thejokerking

    thejokerking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks everyone. You guys rock. Thank God for smart people.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/172749

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice