1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Change IP for a laptop user.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by snteran, Feb 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. snteran

    snteran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    We have a user who really has very little knowledge about PC's and has been given an awesome laptop. This user will need to change the IP address from time to time and I have created a batch file using netsh to allow him to change the IP based off of what branch he will be at. The thing is, he does not have sufficient rights to make the change. I am not sure how to grant him access to be able to change the IP address. I don't want to give him admin rights, because the next thing you know, there will be a lot of crappy software on this business laptop. Any thoughts welcomed.

    Thanks,
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Soundy

    Soundy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,838
    Do these locations not use DHCP?
     
  4. snteran

    snteran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Unfortunately our branches do not use DHCP and in case the user logs into a hotel's high speed that is not wireless, he will need to switch his LAN to DHCP. I have the script to make the needed IP changes, the access is the issue. And of course, not having DHCP servers, which is on the way(6 - 9 months, w/luck).
     
  5. Soundy

    Soundy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,838
    Hmmm, it's been a while, but it seems to me there's a way you can tell a script to "Run as..." an admin user. I'll hafta dig through all my old notes. What version of Windows is this? With XP Pro, at least, you have a lot more options for controlling user rights.
     
  6. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,233
    This is the best software out there for this -

    http://www.wingnutsoftware.com/

    Encrypted runas.

    The nice thing about this is you don't have to write the runas username/password into the batch file (thus allowing users to just look at it). As well you can set this to local Admin or Domain user rights.

    Also works with vbs, com, exe, bat files.

    So with this solution you can use the netsh command of a batch file or you can run VBS and access the network adapter that way if you wanted to.
     
  7. Soundy

    Soundy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,838
    That's sweet, I gotta bookmark that one.
     
  8. snteran

    snteran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks for the link, I will take a look and see if I can't get it to work.

    also - the laptop is running Win2K pro.
     
  9. snteran

    snteran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Wow - that was easy to setup. However, for $200 I think I will try to find another way to allow my domain user change their IP address. If anyone has a system way to take care of this, that would be great. Although if someone needs a license for a single computer, $6 is a good price.
     
  10. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
  11. snteran

    snteran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks for the info, although i would really like a system method to allow the user to change the IP address with the use of the batch file. I got to believe it can be done with out some third party tool.
     
  12. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,233
    Like I said you can do it many ways but your limiting your options by not having admin rights.... if you want something free and not secure try this -

    http://www.commandline.co.uk/sanur_unsupported/index3.html

    This will allow you to use a batch file and still be able to plain text a password for a user account with admin rights.

    I don't think your going to find any utility that lets non admins change their TCP/IP settings.
     
  13. Nickz

    Nickz

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    you can assign a dual IP...
     
  14. Nickz

    Nickz

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    just like mine i assigned 2 IP's and 2 gateway for 2 two access the different servers...
     
  15. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,233
    Nickz while alternate configurations can be a solution in some caes I have to point out the posters prior posts.

    He mentions "our branches" (make me think this laptop has the probability to hit multiple sites or at least 2), then he mentions "at a hotel" (add's yet another variable depending on the Hotel's configuration), on top of that I think its safe to assume one would assume they use it at home as well.

    I am counting about 3 possible different configurations - Banch 1, Branch 2, DHCP - with the possibility of having more.

    Unfortunately Alternate configurations only work in a limited set of circumstances but I am not thinking this owuld be of help in this particular scenario. I may be wrong in what I am reading but from the information provided I assumed its more than 2 configurations.
     
  16. snteran

    snteran Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    We do have 5 branches as well as our main office. I appreciate everyones help, hopefully I can find a good system method, if not perhaps a very inexpensive method to allow our one user network access at any branch.
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/444525