1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Change Language from Arabic to English

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by kunjikorans, Dec 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kunjikorans

    kunjikorans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Hi,

    A friend of mine has Windows XP SP2. But its in arabic. Is there anyway to convert it into English. We tried going to Control Panel and Language Options but no English was available there.

    Is reintsalling XP the only option? Thanx in advance
     
  2. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    In Control Panel>Regional and Language>Regional Options tab, if you click the Customise button, a whole list of languages shows up and you need English United Kingdom. When you apply and OK that, move on to the next tab - Advanced - and set English UK as the main language and click to remove any others. When you click on Apply a warning will show saying it will do that on the next restart. Finally, in the third tab, change the unicode to English UK.

    The system will need a restart and some Arabic might remain entrenched but it should mostly be showing in British English.
     
  3. kunjikorans

    kunjikorans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Hi Saga,

    I have already tried that before coming here. In the Regional Options Tab, next to Customise button, there is a drop down box which has lots of languages. But it doesnt have English. I checked the Advanced Tab too, there is no English in the drop-down menu.

    The XP that is installed on this PC is Arabic.
     
  4. galoryber

    galoryber

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    i don't know about arabic, but there are seperate install disc's for languages that are read differently (side to side - bottom to top.. however it may be) there are language packs you can download. I've only ever seen them from english to another language, but i can't imagine that they don't go both ways.
    You could reinstall with an english version, but that's got a price tag with it.
     
  5. kunjikorans

    kunjikorans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    I know if XP is installed in English then you can download LIP for any language and then you can switch over to that language.

    I just want the Context menus , start bar etc to be English. Can I do it without reinstalling XP english ?
     
  6. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    Like galoryber, I can't believe this isn't possible. When the installation was made in Arabic, did the CD packaging display that language? If you still have the CD, can you open it and look for language related folders?
     
  7. kunjikorans

    kunjikorans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    They cant find the Arabic XP CD. Will installing MUI in English help ?
     
  8. galoryber

    galoryber

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    hmm, since you mentioned it's on SP2, I found one link suggesting that you can download SP3 in english. not sure how valid that is (i don't remember having to select a language for service packs), but I'd suggest updating to SP3 anyway.
     
  9. kunjikorans

    kunjikorans Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    hi Galoryber,

    I will try installing SP3. And then I will let you know. Can you give me that link that will let me download SP3 in English?
     
  10. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    It's easy to find at http://www.microsoft.com and English (well, American anyway) will be the default language.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/968181