Change Motherboard/Keep Old Hard Drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

city964

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
3
I am looking to upgrade my motherboard, but keep my current hard drive and the content on it (due to having alot of programs and software plugins on it). I am running Windows 7 32 bit with and AMD Phenom II x2 CPU. My current motherboard is one I went to when my compaq desktop died a while ago and I wanted to upgrade my operating system and hard drive capacity anyway. So, the first link below is the motherboard I have and the second link is the motherboard I am looking at upgrading to (since the two are somewhat comparable in specs/give or take a few things). Any suggestions or help is welcome. Thanks!

1) My current motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813135246

2) Motherboard I am looking to purchase
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128394
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,261
First of all, have you read the guide at the top of the forum regarding this issue?

Next the gigabyte board uses an 8pin aux pw connector. Make sure your pw supply has either an 8pin or a 4x4pin aux connector. Many have only a 4pin and that is asking for problems.

BTW I have that same gigabyte board in my home theater system. I am very pleased with its performance [running a 940 w/4gig of ram]
 

city964

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
3
Thanks for the quick reply. I've seen so posts regarding this, but there is always a different circumstance than mine and I end up with questions regarding my situation. No harm, no foul though. I think that I am going to have to build from scratch and was wondering if you can verify if these parts will work together.

1) The aforementioned motherboard
2) This DVD burner http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827135204
3) This power supply http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817822001
 

city964

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
3
oops, nevermind I see what you are talking about with the pw connector. It is 4 pin, but I do have the option of getting a 4pin to 8pin adapter. Thanks.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,261
oops, nevermind I see what you are talking about with the pw connector. It is 4 pin, but I do have the option of getting a 4pin to 8pin adapter. Thanks.
4 to 8pin is asking for problems. If you are going to use a board with an 8pin aux connector, then buy a pw supply that supports that connector. While you might be able to use a 4>8pin adapter, it is better to do it the right way.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top