1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Change the Dell Media Direct button.

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Reviews' started by firestormer, Feb 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. firestormer

    firestormer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,254
    Its very simple really. (For Inspiron 6400 but may work on others)

    Some Dell laptops have a button on them labled Media Direct. If you computers off it will launch a special mini OS just for pictures, music and the like. If its on it will load a media program that does much the same call Dell Media Direct.

    Now what if we want to change this button to say WMP or Media Center? Dell have set things up so there is no obvious way.

    So here is what i have done (For media center):

    NOTE: DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK. AFTER DOING THE FOLLOWING DELL MEDIA DIRECT WILL NO LONGER WORK.

    1. Download autoit v3 and install.
    2. Open notepad insert this text:

    Code:
    RUN("C:\windows\ehome\ehshell.exe")
    3. Save the file as
    Code:
    MDirect.au3
    4. Right click on the saved file and click complie. You will now have a new file called MDirect.exe
    5. Go to C:\Program Files\Dell\MediaDirect and move the program located in there called MDdirct.exe to a new folder say "MDirect in here!"
    6. In its place paste your new file MDirect.exe so that it occupies the same directory as the old.

    Now as long as you have the program Dell Quick Set running (It is a startup program as default) When you press the Media Direct button Windows Media Center will open.

    This will work for any program WMP iTunes ect. just replace the directory in step 2 with the appropriote directory for your program.


    Know a better way to do this? I'd love to know
     
  2. ferrija1

    ferrija1

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
  3. firestormer

    firestormer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,254
  4. ferrija1

    ferrija1

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    Yeah, I'm going to check it out.
     
  5. reefskin

    reefskin

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    0
    Could you potentially use this so that the Media Direct button became a Linux OS startup button instead?
     
  6. firestormer

    firestormer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,254
    I suppose it is possible. I dont know much about duel booting, but as the dell laptops include a media direct OS launched by this button i think you could do it. My best guess is that it would involve first installing Linux in a partition and then altering the boot files replacing the dell media direct references with the linux.

    By the way i have now placed a post with a more efficiant way of changing the media dircect buttons funciton. You will need to disable Dell Quick Set from startup and then follow the instructions here: http://forums.techguy.org/tech-tips-tricks/567324-playing-hotkeys-keyboard-shortcuts-using.html
     
  7. firestormer

    firestormer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,254
  8. firestormer

    firestormer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,254
  9. firestormer

    firestormer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,254
  10. c_g_f

    c_g_f

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    0
    Hi everybody and hi Firestormer.. I was looking for a tip to change that button function for a long time and finally I found this thread..

    I have to say that it's not working for me.. because I actually did a clean reinstallation of windows on my Dell laptop (630m for european market, same as 6400 but with a 14,1" screen) and somehow I couldn't find the program I used to have "Dell Media Experience".. but I didn't want it anyways..

    I tried the tip with a few changes, I had to create the MediaDirect folder and then I just put the exe file there but when I tried pushing the button I got the same quickset message as always "Dell Media Experience won't run, reinstall the program".. or something like that..

    Now my question is.. it is not working because..

    1. Need to restart the computer?

    2. The clean reinstallation (without dell secret partition at all)

    3. The program I used to have "Dell Media Experience" is not the same Firestormer is talking about and my folder and exe file has to be rename so quickset will recognise them?

    4. A registry entry missing? (as I dont have the program the button is supposed to launch)


    I'm willing to try the other option with autohotkey.. but you say that I need to disable quickset from startup.. and I was wondering if I can enable again without having problems..

    thanks in advance for your answers..
     
  11. firestormer

    firestormer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,254
    Hi c_g_f and Welcome

    Since starting this thread I have found a much better and more efficiant way of replacing the function of this button.
    Please see the thread here: http://forums.techguy.org/tech-tips-tricks/567324-playing-hotkeys-keyboard-shortcuts-using.html

    Basicly i completely get rid of DellQuickSet and replaced it with a custom program.

    In the attatched zip file you will find:

    keyhook.ahk - Requires AutoHotkey (See above link), will help you identify the code relating to a hotkey
    Media Center.ahk - Requires AutoHotkey. Script that when runningwill open media center when the Dell Media Direct Button is pressed
    MCHK.exe - The compiled version of Media Center.ahk. This is stand alone. You just need to add it to your startup and then the Dell Media Direct button opens media center. (Ensure dell quick set is not running)
     

    Attached Files:

    • MCHK.zip
      File size:
      205.7 KB
      Views:
      2,119
  12. firestormer

    firestormer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,254
    IMPORTANT UPDATE:

    Due to a new Anti-Virus definition update, anti-virus software such as AVG may produce a false negative to the program in the previously posted zip file.

    The zip below contains a replacement.
     

    Attached Files:

    • MCHK.zip
      File size:
      191.3 KB
      Views:
      647
  13. tempguy

    tempguy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    0
    hello friends,

    just thought I'd bump my two cents in here.

    I found this thread with similar thoughts in mind to have the "MediaDirect" button start up my Winamp program (something useful, in other words:).

    I just copied all of my winamp files into the media direct file folder (I imagine a cleaner way to do this would be to install to this folder), stuck all the mdirect files inside a temporary holding folder, and changed the name of the winamp.exe file to mdirect.exe. Bingo. seems to work with no problem so far.

    peace
     
  14. psoohoo

    psoohoo

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    0
    I created a single self extracting RAR file and named it MDIRECT.EXE to confifure the MediaDirect button on the Dell laptops.

    i created a RAR archive and name the RAR file MDIRECT.RAR
    The contents of this archive is the shortcut to the program i want to launch, say FIREFOX.EXE
    i decide to rename it "mdirect.lnk" but you can use to original shortcut name

    create an SFX with the following ADVANCD options.
    Under General
    in Setup Programs, put the shortcut name in the field for Run after extraction
    Under Mode,
    check Unpack to temporary folder
    select Hide All and Overwrite All

    It will name the EXE the same as the RAR, copy the MDIRECT.EXE into mediadirect folder
    C:\Program Files\Dell\MediaDirect

    The only drawback might be the it may litter your TEMP folder with temp RAR files. It should delete them when you QUIT the program.

    If someone can refine this, by all means.
     
  15. desaroo22

    desaroo22

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    So I have had my Dell Inspiron 1521 for about a month. I pressed this button beside my power button thinking it would bring me to my home page on my internet. It did not. It brought me to this thing called Dell MediaDirect. It loads everytime I turn on my computer when I dont want it too. It also says there is an error because I have Microsoft BitLoader on my laptop. I just want it to go away so I can go on my computer. Any ideas for help? Please and thank you.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/540776