1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

change which drive a program runs in

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by dukevyner, Nov 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dukevyner

    dukevyner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    787
    i have a program that i need to run a driver update the problem is that the changes need to be made on my slave hard drive... i can't boot the hard drive because i get a memory dump when i boot because the drive needs to be updated.... i figured i could change which drive the program runs in with a batch or something but i don't know how i would go about doing it... any help would be great
     
  2. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    It is not all that clear from your opening post what the problem is.

    What driver do you need to update and what is the program you are referring to.

    You can only run a program from the drive it was installed on, in order to run it from another drive you would have to re-install it on that drive.
     
  3. dukevyner

    dukevyner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    787
    it was a sound card driver... the manufacturer of my pc provided me with a version that was incompatible with windows 7 and gave me a blue screen memory dump on boot luckily i had a slave... that had xp installed on it and i was hoping to run the windows 7 compatible update from there but i needed to make the changes on the (new) slave drive(cause i switched them) with windows 7... i couldn't do this from safe mode... cause the installer is disabled.. finally i gave up and re installed windows 7 and installed the correct driver to resolve the issue.. . I thank you for your attempt at helping though
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    All programs run in memory and not on a drive. It doesn't matter where the program is started from because they all go to the same place. You can't update a non-running system. A non-running system doesn't even have a CurrentControlSet branch in its registry which is where all installations would need to be made.

    You still use IDE drives with Windows 7?
     
  5. dukevyner

    dukevyner Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    787
    sadly yes, my computer is quite old.. I was given damage computer and by damaged i mean... it either had a fried motherboard or a broken power supply... but nether the less i removed and tested the hard drive(which the previous owner had installed 7 on) after determining that it worked and was not it's self damaged then checked the RAM witch was also in working condition and fit my old computer so i installed them both and decided to use the hard drive with windows 7 (as i now have enough RAM) long story i installed the drivers for xp and not for 7, put its fixed now
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025382