1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Changed Router Firmware and password, now laptop won't connect

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Sports, Apr 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sports

    Sports Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Can anyone help?

    My son decided to update our router firmware, together with this the password was changed. My computer which hosts the Internet connection works fine, all other laptops have now been connected successfully after simply changing the password. However my wifes laptop won't play ball. It is a Samsung R510, with Vista Home Premium OS. It worked fine prior to updating the firmware. I have been through the process of changing the password and have the correct security encryption in place, exactly the same process as with the other laptops. It then says successfully connected, but shows in the bottom right of the screen, Unidentified network access local only and will not connect when the browser is opened. I have tried to diagnose but the usual windows prompt to reboot both modem and router has no effect. I have set it to private, as advised elsewhere, I have switched the firewall off and removed security software, all to no avail.

    From another post in this forum I tried the command prompt, then ipconfig/renew. The result of that was the following message:

    An error occurred while renewing interface Wireless Connection: unable to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out. No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection while it has media disconnected.

    Not sure if that information helps anybody. So any help much appreciated. Let me stress that no changes were made to the laptop at all, it is simply not connecting following the firmware update and password change. All other computers, and phones, 6 in total, are all working fine from simply changing the password.

    Any help please, lots of head scratching here. I have tried to provide as much information as I can, if you need any more then please ask and I'll do my best to provide it.

    Thank You
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,958
    can we see an ipconfig /all and also a device manager screen shot from the faulty PC

    have you tried with no security on the wireless router - if not - try that
    have you connected the laptop to the router by cable and see if that works - if not tried - try that

    what security suite/firewall are you running or ever had a trial version on the pc like - norton, mcafee etc

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    windows key and pause Key should open to allow device manager to be seen on laptops may need to use windows key + FN key + Pause Key
    if not then

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Sports

    Sports Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Hope I've done this right, this is the Ipconfig you asked for, not sure why the error message at the beginning,


    Error: unrecognized or incomplete command line.

    USAGE:
    ipconfig [/allcompartments] [/? | /all |
    /renew [adapter] | /release [adapter] |
    /renew6 [adapter] | /release6 [adapter] |
    /flushdns | /displaydns | /registerdns |
    /showclassid adapter |
    /setclassid adapter [classid] ]

    where
    adapter Connection name
    (wildcard characters * and ? allowed, see examples)

    Options:
    /? Display this help message
    /all Display full configuration information.
    /allcompartments Display information for all compartments.
    /release Release the IPv4 address for the specified adapter.
    /release6 Release the IPv6 address for the specified adapter.
    /renew Renew the IPv4 address for the specified adapter.
    /renew6 Renew the IPv6 address for the specified adapter.
    /flushdns Purges the DNS Resolver cache.
    /registerdns Refreshes all DHCP leases and re-registers DNS names
    /displaydns Display the contents of the DNS Resolver Cache.
    /showclassid Displays all the dhcp class IDs allowed for adapter.
    /setclassid Modifies the dhcp class id.

    The default is to display only the IP address, subnet mask and
    default gateway for each adapter bound to TCP/IP.

    For Release and Renew, if no adapter name is specified, then the IP address
    leases for all adapters bound to TCP/IP will be released or renewed.

    For Setclassid, if no ClassId is specified, then the ClassId is removed.

    Examples:
    > ipconfig ... Show information
    > ipconfig /all ... Show detailed information
    > ipconfig /renew ... renew all adapters
    > ipconfig /renew EL* ... renew any connection that has its
    name starting with EL
    > ipconfig /release *Con* ... release all matching connections,
    eg. "Local Area Connection 1" or
    "Local Area Connection 2"
    > ipconfig /allcompartments ... Show information about all
    compartments
    > ipconfig /allcompartments /all ... Show detailed information about all
    compartments
     
  4. Sports

    Sports Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    screenshot as requested
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Sports

    Sports Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Apologies for previous, I think this is the right info you need

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Karen-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-D2-46-ED-18
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.111(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 20 April 2012 15:30:55
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 21 April 2012 15:30:55
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-77-E2-D3-75
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{65CC53BF-D06E-439C-ADE2-D6B09F8A2C29}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{4BC11F05-D708-401F-8E52-FCBC8A687CA7}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  6. Sports

    Sports Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    And as regards Internet the laptop was running AVG, which has since been uninstalled
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,958
    Atheros AR5007EG this is a problem adapter and has been found to stop working for no reason OR will only work with certain router
    It would appear the firmware update has made it not want to work with the adapter

    as a test
    try removing the security on the wireless router and it should now connect

    here are some suggestion found to work over the last year or so trying to fix this particular adapter

    I would hope a new driver from the samsung site would work now - as i say this has been an issue for a year or so -
    you should find the driver here
    http://www.samsung.com/uk/support/model/NP-R510-FAADUK-downloads
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Atheros Wireless Adapter - AR5007EG & AR5007
    We have recently been seeing a lot of problems with the above adapter over the last few months, mainly concerning WPA and WPA2 encryption and windows Vista.

    The adapter gets an IP configuration, and shows as connected, but communication is non-existent or sporadic.

    Log into the Router and disable the wireless security and see if you are now able to connect to the internet and surf OK.
    --- Please post back here if that
    works or does not work.


    Here are a number of possible solutions

    --- 1) In Device Manager right click on the wireless adapter and "update driver." That apparently has worked for some posters.

    --- 2) Download and install the latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site support section, as some manufactures, appear to now have a working driver available.
    Toshiba - update has worked for some PCs
    HP The latest HP Atheros driver dated Sept 2010 has fixed the issue - so check the driver date, However, that does NOT apply to all HPs / Compaqs machines
    - the poster did an online scan for driver updates on the HP website here HP Product Detection which resulted in a solution. Solved: Can't connect to internet wirelessly - Atheros AR5007 Wifi through Clear Comm - Tech Support Guy Forums

    If you can post the Make and EXACT model of your PC here, along with the windows version you have and we will see if we can find the driver and will post a link as a reply here.

    --- 3) On one occasion re-setting the router back to factory default and re-configuring the router settings has resolved the issue

    --- 4) A few posters here with the same issue have found that the driver from this site ATHEROS drivers for Microsoft Windows resolved the issue
    Threads are here
    Solved: Public Network - Access: Local Only (Please help!) - Tech Support Guy Forums
    Solved: NetGear WNDR3700 Incompatibilty W/ Atheros AR5700 - Tech Support Guy Forums
    Solved: Local connection only when connected to secured wirless - Tech Support Guy Forums
    Solved: Unidentified Network - Tech Support Guy Forums
    Unidentified Network


    I do NOT know anything about the site mentioned ATHEROS drivers for Microsoft Windows However, a number of forum members have now successfully used the site to update the driver

    However, if you do decide to try the driver, Please let us know the outcome

    Direct link to the drivers are below
    You only need to click on the green download button labelled " click to download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started

    AR5007
    Vista 32 Bit
    Drivers for Atheros AR5007 and Windows Vista
    Although this driver has shown up in BSODs (Blue Screen Of Death) on Vista SP2 systems, usually conflicting with updated Vista OS drivers like netio.sys, tcpip.sys and other networking related drivers.

    AR5007EG
    Vista 32 Bit
    Drivers for Atheros AR5007EG and Windows Vista

    Drivers for other windows operating system
    http://www.atheros.cz/atheros-wireless-drivers.php

    Assuming that after all the above the wireless still does not connect to the internet, all I can suggest is to use wireless security of WEP or to get an external USB wireless card.

    You might also bug your laptop's tech support about the problem--maybe people can put pressure on Atheros to find a fix.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Sports

    Sports Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Brilliant thanks the drivers form the Samsung site worked. Thanks for your help, much appreciated
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,958
    your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1050091