1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Changing a SpeedStream 5100 ip address

Discussion in 'Networking' started by newbie321, May 13, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. newbie321

    newbie321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Anyone knows how to get SpeedStream 5100 DSL modem to talk to the PC via an ethernet cable so that I can get into its configuration for further DSL configuration?
    I looked up the manual and it says the web interface should be on 192.168.254.254; however, my modem keeps on showing 169.254.179.117. This puzzles me very much so and I cannt seem to get over this obstacle.
    Anyone had to deal with something like this?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,502
    First Name:
    James
    169.254.x.y means there is no DHCP found. If your computer is getting the 169.254.x.y address then you would most likely need to factory reset the modem.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,188
    First Name:
    Terry
  4. newbie321

    newbie321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    thanks for a quick reply, #Couriant. I did the factory reset on it actually already... still stuck on 192.254.179.117 ie no change .
    I was thinking maybe this modem does not have a DCHP server and all has to be manually set up since it is quite old...
    ... the manual suggests there is a DCHP server though...
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,188
    First Name:
    Terry
    Modems do not have a DHCP server; they just set up a connection between the ISP and the customer's device.

    Do you have a modem or do you have a modem/router combination unit?
     
  6. newbie321

    newbie321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks, #TerryNet. My problem is I can not get into the web admin site for the device, usually found at 192.168.1.1 or so... the browser just does not see the connection even though ping 192.254.179.117 does work ( I could be pinging my adapter though and not the modem)
     
  7. newbie321

    newbie321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    #TerryNet, I have DSL modem, whose overall features are the same as dlink 2500u (which I also have). The manual suggests this modem (speedstream 5100) comes with router ie can do DCHP

    but in case, there is no DHCP server, how would I go about getting this modem to work. Do I need to statistally assign IP to the modem?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,188
    First Name:
    Terry
    These specs show the Speedstream 5100 to be a simple (A)DSL modem.
     
  9. newbie321

    newbie321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    5
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,188
    First Name:
    Terry
    All I know is what you've posted and those specs I found. Most Speedstreams I've encountered here have indeed been modem/router combos, but I don't know how to determine exactly what that unit you have is.

    Does you computer using the same ethernet cable get a good dynamic IP address from that other router (or modem/router) you have? If so, then the Speedstream is a modem only or it is a defective modem/router.
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,502
    First Name:
    James
    Can you take a picture of the bottom of your modem?
     
  12. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17,909
    First Name:
    Liz
    The manual is for 4 different models.
    Here's a picture from that manual
    speedstream.jpg

    Yours is only a modem.
    Source: http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,9168759
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Changing SpeedStream 5100
  1. Wasim.astera
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    430
  2. Lisadw1966
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    348
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1227101

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice