1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Changing Autoplay Options?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by johnnyb50uk, Jul 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. johnnyb50uk

    johnnyb50uk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Hi, whenever I put an audio CD into my computer it automaticaly opens a browser window to show the disc contents, which I would like to change.

    I have looked on the web which says that if I go to My Computer, and right click on one of my CD/DVD drives, then click on properties, there should be an autoplay tab, but its not there.

    Does anyone know if it can be done from somewhere else? Or why that tab is not there on either of my CD/DVD drives?

    Thanks,

    Jon.
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Does it look like this below but doesn't have Autoplay?


    Are you using XP?
     

    Attached Files:

    • CD.JPG
      CD.JPG
      File size:
      28.5 KB
      Views:
      30
  3. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    Start> Run> type services.msc then hit OK.
    Go down to Shell Hardware Detection and double click the line.
    See that Automatic is in the Startup type box and Service status is Started
    If you make any changes, Apply> OK then reboot your computer and go back and try
    the Autoplay tab again.
     
  4. johnnyb50uk

    johnnyb50uk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks, that has sorted it. The Autoplay tab has re-appeared!

    Jon.
     
  5. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    You are very welcome.:)
    You can mark this solved from the thread tools at the top of your post.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/596959

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice