Changing file ext. in WinME

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Wet Chicken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
We have two programs on our main computer with the same exact file extension (.php). Now every time we try to open a HTML file our greeting card program opens up instead :eek:

How do we change the file extension to one of the programs so that they no longer conflict?

Thanks.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
1,281
Is there an option in your greeting card program for setting file associations ?

EvileYe.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
724
Go into Folder Options in the Control Panel, click the File Types tab, look for the file extension and modify it to point to IE :)
 

Wet Chicken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
But then everytime I go to open up the greeting card program, won't IE open up?

I thought I had to modify the greeting card program (what it looks for) somehow?
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
724
If you mean that your greeting card program is saving files with the .php extension, then it would not hurt to point the .php files to IE. You could still run the program without IE opening. The downside would be having to 'Open With...' every time you want to open a .php with the greeting card prog.

This will also fix the problem if the program is set to be the default viewer of .php files.

You could still use the program to open these files, you'd just have to do it from within the program.

Why any program would want to use a .php extention is beyond me...surely the makers could see the conflict...
 

Wet Chicken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Yeah I know. I guess they missed .HTM :rolleyes: :D

Ok I think I figured it out :eek:

I chose "New" and made a file extension called PH2, and then I told it that from this day forth everything with a PH2 extension would be for the greeting card program. Now I think I just have to open the greeting card folder up and rename all of them PH2 and it should work... key word is should :p

I'm going to try it now...

THANKS GUYS!
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
you should be able to do a quick and dirty renaming from DOS
cd to the correct directory and put in
ren *.php *.ph2

Now, the REAL trick will be to get the program to create any NEW files with the ph2 extension.

Good Luck
 

Wet Chicken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
I did a search for .php and it said that I had over 2000 files with that extension on it :eek:

Most of them are computer scripts so I don't want to rename those :p I looked in the card programs folder and I didn't see any files with that extension. I'll have to weed through all of those files and manually rename the ones for the card program. Might be easier to just install the card program on another computer :D I just hope that when I delete the program that it doesn't delete any of those 2000 files :eek:
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
I have a feeling that the majority of those 2000 files are going to be in your TIF folder aka, the great windows landfill!!
 

Wet Chicken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
I have a couple of them. The one that is causing all of the problems is called American Greetings Creat a Card by Broderbund.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top