1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Changing from Vista to Win 7 now to XP Pro. Help

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Omovie, Mar 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Omovie

    Omovie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    I have been using Vista for a while now, but due to its slow nature i had to change to Window 7. It gave me little or no problem at all. I had Original Win 7 Service pack but when i first install it on my system, there was no hassle at all. But when the system began to develop some unusual fault, i decided to reformat with my Original Win 7 CD. But to my greatest surprise, the License key on the CD (Win 7) no longer working. My desktop screen is now black as usual as Microsoft wants to check the validity of my Window.
    Now i want to change from the Vista and Win 7 world to the rugged XP PRO.
    How do i go about it?
    Please somebody in the house should help me out?
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    What did that laptop come with and do you have any discs with it and what are they?
     
  3. Omovie

    Omovie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Thanks for your quick response. The System came with Vista and no disc came with it. But it has it own setup disc inside that you opportunity to Burn it once. After that first burning you will no longer be able to burn it again. Though i have not burn it into any disc because it too heavy (about 3.GB). So that is the situation. Thanks
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    You have HP Compaq ...what model is it?

    and do you have a XP Pro disk with the CD key?
     
  5. Omovie

    Omovie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Sorry for not giving you the details. The Laptop is HP G60-440US. The Original OP is Windows Vista Home Premium
     
  6. Omovie

    Omovie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    I have XP Pro with key
     
  7. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,004
    First Name:
    Jay
    Maybe some help Here
     
  8. Omovie

    Omovie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Thanks i'm going to do just that
     
  9. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,004
    First Name:
    Jay
    And the slipstreaming Guide that I used.

    Good Luck :D
     
  10. Omovie

    Omovie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    I have been trying to download those setup they are not going, especially winImage. Can someone help me out
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/913758

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice