1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

changing harddrive in laptop

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by chompie, Aug 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chompie

    chompie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    hi, i have two laptops (i'm not showing off) one an ipc and the other a medion (see :rolleyes: ) the IPC laptop has been overheating like crazy, it is out of warranty so i took the processor out and now i can't get the bugger back in it's a 370 pin push and slide/lever but the bugger won't shift; i think the contact's on the plastic inset where the chip sits are damaged.
    anyway now i have taken the HDD out of the IPC and want to put it in the medion, but when i did this the winXP screen started to emerge then Wham blue screen with your computer is buggered it may be your HDD etc. and some numbers, now the HDD was fine when last used in the other Laptop, it is a 30Gb HDD whereas in the medion is a 10Gb.
    so, does anyone know why this might be?

    help on either prob would be appreciated. :D
     
  2. tdi_veedub

    tdi_veedub

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    460
    The problem is that you cannot use the XP installation from the old laptop on the new laptop. The blue screen you are seeing is the XP kernel crashing because it is not seeing the hardware is expects to. You will have to format the drive and reinstall XP.
     
  3. chompie

    chompie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    so is there any way of retrieving the data on the hard drive?
     
  4. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,298
    I don't think you have to reformat. I believe you can boot from the cd and do a repair install which should reinstall the system files and rededect your hardware.
     
  5. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,298
    You can get a converter and hook it up as a standard ide drive or get an enclosure and connect it via USB or FireWire.
     
  6. tdi_veedub

    tdi_veedub

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    460
    Yeah that might work too. I never tried doing it that way, but I am partial to just formatting and get rid of any previous problems there may have been. Not to mention that if it doesn't work, having to sit through another install after the re-install attempt would kind of irk me. Definately worth a shot though if you got potential time on your hands. Either way backup what you need incase the install fails miserably.
     
  7. chompie

    chompie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    cheers all, lots to do now i'm trying to re-model the pins on the IPC so i can fit a Processor, but if that doesn't work i'll try the CD-boot option.

    what USB cable can connect to a 2.5" HDD?
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    The XP Repair will solve the problem, so long as the drive and the new machine are compatible. The wrong drivers are being loaded from that hard drive.

    All you do is boot from the CD. When it asks if you want to repair and to press "R", don't. Continue with the installation just like you were installing for the first time.

    You will then get a license agreement and it will ask you to press F8 to agree. Right after that screen, you will see a list of Windows installations that setup found. It will ask if you want to repair it. Read the directions on that page!!!

    Then, you will actually press "R" this time and XP will re-install.

    When done, you will be back to your familiar desktop with everything looking just like it did before. But all your Windows Updates are gone and you will need to get those again.

    If you have any problems booting from CD, set the CD to boot earlier then the hard drive in BIOS setup, or come back for more help.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can buy a USB 2.0 case for 2.5" drives from a variety of places, try www.newegg.com as I believe they have several. You can also spend $5 or so and buy a 2.5" <-> 3.5" IDE adapter and connect the drive to a desktop for access, which is how I normally deal with this kind of issue.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/258702

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice