Changing LinuxMint's multiboot screen...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Zovc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
8
I first installed XP Professional on this computer, then I installed LinuxMint, asking it to share the hard drive with Windows. It repartitioned things as it needed to, and the installations are fine (Windows complained about its file system breaking, but it scanned it and got over it), but I'm not liking LinuxMint's multiboot screen.

First of all, it's set to 10 seconds, which means if I'm doing something while the computer is starting (say, plugging this laptop in), it's going to boot into LinuxMint. This wouldn't be a big deal if I could make the computer choose Windows by default, which I'm sure I can--I just don't know how. Is there a file I can tinker with or something of that nature to fool around with the file's settings?

Also, is it possible to change the background for this boot screen?
 

Ent

Josiah
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
First of all, it's set to 10 seconds, which means if I'm doing something while the computer is starting (say, plugging this laptop in), it's going to boot into LinuxMint. This wouldn't be a big deal if I could make the computer choose Windows by default, which I'm sure I can--I just don't know how. Is there a file I can tinker with or something of that nature to fool around with the file's settings?
I would suggest you do a bit of googling about the file named Grub.conf (/boot/grub/grub.conf). It is also sometimes called Menu.lst, and is the file used to edit this menu.

Also, is it possible to change the background for this boot screen?
I have a vague feeling that if you find that you can replace the picture file with one of your own, but I've never tried it.
 

Zovc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
8
That is what I need to fool around with, thanks. Turns out it's a lot more complicated than messing with BOOT.INI, though. :(
 

Ent

Josiah
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
It is somewhat. You shouldn't go messing round unless you have a reason, but here you clearly do have a reason.

The big thing that you will want to insert or modify is the keyword default. That should be set to the numerical position of your Windows system in the grub.conf file starting from 0.
For example on my system I have a line
default 1
because my menu has Debian on top and Windows in second place. Debian is therefore 0 and Windows is 1.
The Windows section is typically pretty easy to identify just from the name, but when counting remember to only count lines starting with title and to ignore any line that starts with a # (a comment)
 

Ent

Josiah
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
One other thing, though I don't know enough about Mint to say how it will apply to you. For my Debian I need Root privileges to open or edit that file.
 

Zovc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
8
I shouldn't have any problems editing the file. (About to go check.) I opened up the file and went to tinker with it, but decided against it. Since I'm just going to be changing one thing, I'm comfortable making the changes now. I suppose I'll find out soon whether or not I need privileges, but Mint usually prompts me and allows me to give any privileges necessary when doing something like this.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2004
Messages
3,888
In any Linux you can become the Super user by a terminal command either
Code:
su
or
Code:
sudo su
The root privilege terminates if you exit the terminal.

Grub control the default system to be booted by the line starting with command "default" and the time waiting for the user to make the decison which system to boot by the line starting with "timeout".

Either or both lines can be temporarily disable by adding a "#" in front of it.
 

Zovc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
8
It seems LinuxMint has some sort of script built into its GRUB. Said script sets Default to 0 even if I change it in the file. I tried turning the script that I thought did that into a comment, but that didn't fix the problem.

There are several configuration utilities in the /etc/GRUB/(I think) folder, but I'm not sure how to use them.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
46
You are working too hard, mint already has a nice program with a gui called
Start Up Manager
if you are running a version without SUM it can be found on software manager & synaptic
 

1002richards

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
5,333
Start Up Manager
if you are running a version without SUM it can be found on software manager & synaptic
or via terminal it's startupmanager, if you prefer CLI to synaptic. No options to change boot screen pic in Ubuntu 10.04 though with SUM.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top