changing my processor!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

qazqaz159159

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2006
Messages
5
hey everyone, im changing my processor but i need a bit of help!

currently my processor is a:-

socket 478
CPU Speed : 2.66GHz
Bus Speed: 533MHz
L2 cache speed: 512kb

this is what i am planning to change to:

socket 478 (obviously :) )
cpu speed: 3.20GHz
Bus Speed: 800Mhz
L2 cache speed 1MB

however, this is what i am worried about.. ive read that To obtain the FSB of your Processor, a compatible motherboard that can support the Bus speed must be used and this is what it says in my mainboard manual:-

"supports socket 478 for P4/celeron processors with 400/533MHz"
AND
"Core Frequency from 1.8GHZ to 2.8GHz and up"

for quote number 1.. does it mean i wont be able to get a bus speed of 800MHz as my motherboard can only support up to 533MHz ?
for quote number 2.. will i be able to get 3.2GHz from this new processor?

thanks in advance!
 
Joined
May 12, 2007
Messages
392
I think you just answered your own question lol. yeah your motherboard will support fsb up to 533 and 2.8Ghz
Just find a different cpu that is 533 mhz fsb and 2.8 ghz
 

qazqaz159159

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2006
Messages
5
ok thanks.. just saved me £40 lol

im thinking of gettin a new motherboard, i mean socket 478 is really outdated by todays standards, along with my ddr 333 ram, non-PCI-E port

lol thanks again mate
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,834
You have your answer. You need a board that supports 800fsb. Since socket 478 boards are pretty scarce now, I would opt for a new board, cpu,memory, etc. The only boards I found on newegg for socket 478 are via chipset boards; NOT what I would use for an intel build.

Note you will most likely need a new pw supply as well since modern systems use 24pin and not the older 20pin you probably have now.
 

qazqaz159159

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2006
Messages
5
crjdriver said:
You have your answer. You need a board that supports 800fsb. Since socket 478 boards are pretty scarce now, I would opt for a new board, cpu,memory, etc. The only boards I found on newegg for socket 478 are via chipset boards; NOT what I would use for an intel build.

Note you will most likely need a new pw supply as well since modern systems use 24pin and not the older 20pin you probably have now.

aye this is true aswell.. it wouldnt be economically wise to change all the parts.. might aswell get a new computer, or a laptop (will need it for uni soon so i might aswell save up)

btw this comp is 5 years old, reason why im asking about a processor change is that its gotten really slow nowadays (maybe cuz of nortons = sys resources hog)
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,834
Anything by norton/symantec is about the worst thing you can install on your system. There are much better apps than norton and many of them are free.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top