1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

changing passwords after trojan virus removal

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by alugal, Dec 26, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. alugal

alugal Thread Starter

Hello again helpful people!
    Thanks so very much for your help in the past. You folks are real family! Now I need advice on the best way to go about changing passwords. I just cleaned a trojan virus from my computer, and I am advised that trojans can steal passwords and credit card numbers. How do you advise me to best go about changing passwords? Please be very simple in the answer, as I am fairly new to the cyber world.
    Thanks from a deeply grateful friend, Tom

2. beach51

beach51

Hi Tom,Before you go ahead and change passwords i would install a firewall(Zone alarm)to see if anything is dailing home so to speak.The firewall will stop anyone who tries to access for computer and will also stop anything trying to access the internet from your computer.Go to this site and download the free firewall.

www.zonealarm.com

3. WhitPhil

WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

Since the Trojan has already been in, and has been removed, installing a firewall, although a good idea in the long run, is a little late.

re: passwords.

You need to go to every site that you have logged into, ESPECIALLY sensitive sites, like online banking, stock, etc.

Each of these, on their login page, should have the capability to allow you to change your password. On each site, select this option and change your password.