1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

changing pixels

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by babyboy1, Jan 22, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. babyboy1

    babyboy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    I have problem trying to change the pixel setting on my Dell Inspiron Laptop. I have Windows 98 OS and I cant get the bar to move in the settings part in my control panel file. Any ideas?

    BB1
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Welcome to TSG BB1

    What are the current settings for both resolution and color depth? Can you change the color depth?

    What's the model number on the laptop? Might find something in Dell's knowlege base on the issue. Have you sought any support from them, or is it too old for that?

    Don't know whether this will help, but here's a Dell link which provides some info on their diagnostic utilities available for Inspiron models. I plugged in the lowest one in the search option

    http://support.dell.com/us/en/kb/document.asp?DN=1033011

    See also...

    http://support.dell.com/us/en/kb/document.asp?DN=TT1027162

    http://support.dell.com/us/en/kb/document.asp?DN=1050200

    http://support.dell.com/us/en/kb/document.asp?DN=1036707
     
  3. babyboy1

    babyboy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    My Inspiron is a 3000. My current resolution is 640x480 with 16 colors. I've tried DELL support, but this unit is well past it's grace period.

    Thanks,

    bb1
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  5. babyboy1

    babyboy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    I have tried everything, except the CD rom that you mentioned. I followed the instructions to the letter on the Dell home page. Can you tell me where on might be able to pick up said disk. I appreciate all your help.

    bb1
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I suppose if you don't have it, you would have to order it. But that shouldn't be necessary. All you need is the correct driver. Here it is available from their download site. Follow whatever instructions are included with the zipped files.

    NeoMagic 2160, Windows 98
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65853

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice