1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Changing processor

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Orinoco, Jan 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Orinoco

    Orinoco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Greetings folks,

    I'm looking to change my processor from an AMD Athlon 64 3500+ to an AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4600+ (Socket 939). I don't intend to change from the current cooling arrangement, but am not sure about the thermal compound. When changing the processor, will I need to get and apply new thermal compound?
     
  2. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Yes you'll need to replace the thermal compound. Arctic Silver is good stuff.
     
  3. CouchMaster

    CouchMaster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,303
    1. to put a heatsink on a new CPU, yes you need thermal paste or tape
    2. will your MB support the new 2core CPU or will you have to buy a new MB
    3. if you're going to buy something why not an extra gig of mem for what you have now?
     
  4. Orinoco

    Orinoco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    My machine is running 3GBs of RAM, so no memory upgrade coming. And yes, the MB should run it.

    Thanks for the answers, will buy some Arctic Silver now.

    EDIT: This is the MB I'm running: http://www.asus.com/products4.aspx?l1=3&l2=15&l3=226&model=744&modelmenu=1
     
  5. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    use a plastic credit card or simialer to scrape off old transfer compound and finish up with cotton balls and 90% or better alochol, both surfaces need to be as clean as possible before applying new AS5 compound, a very thin layer is all that is required.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/533032

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice