1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

changing shutdown settings

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by scott0999, Jul 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scott0999

    scott0999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    183
    in vista when I goto shutdown, the default choice is sleep mode. can that be changed to reboot? Ive been looking around control panel ect and dont see anything
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Whatever was selected last is usually what defaults the next time you use shutdown. Are you saying that sleep always shows even if the computer didn't go into sleep mode when you used it last.
     
  3. scott0999

    scott0999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    183
    exactly, it stays on sleep as the default
     
  4. Eriksrocks

    Eriksrocks

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,183
    Do you mean the button in the Start menu?

    [​IMG]

    It always stays on sleep for me as well (although that is what I use most) - I'm using build 5384.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. scott0999

    scott0999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    183
    yes, that one
     
  6. Eriksrocks

    Eriksrocks

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,183
    I don't believe you can do that without a third party tool (if there is one). There might be a registry setting that you can change, but I'm not very good with it, and you always want to be careful. Squashman might know.

    You'll probably just have to click on the > arrow and go to Restart. :)
     
  7. uhaligani

    uhaligani Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,056
    Hi Scott.

    Select Control Panel/Power options. Click Choose when to turn of the display.
    Click change advanced power settings.
    Click power buttons and lid.

    Its all there. Good luck. Enjoy your Vista experience.
     
  8. Eriksrocks

    Eriksrocks

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,183
    Good find. I though it would be in the Start menu options. Unfortunately, there isn't a reboot option there. But there is shut down. :)
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I don't have my Vista machine loaded right now, but when you click shutdown, don't you have the restart option then?
     
  10. uhaligani

    uhaligani Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,056
    There is, but Scott wants to change the default, which is normaly (in Vista) sleep.
     
  11. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Ok, thanks for that :)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/483480

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice