1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Character Map

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Lavada5, Nov 30, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lavada5

    Lavada5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    21
    I tried to use Character Map for the first time in quite awhile and got the error message:
    Character Map
    CHARMAP caused a general protection fault
    in module CHARMAP.EXE at 0001:000000bb.
    Registers:
    EAX=00000102 CS=366f EIP=000000bb EFLGS=00000202
    EBX=0000dedc SS=3667 ESP=000017bc EBP=000017d2
    ECX=05370001 DS=3667 ESI=00000000 FS=0000
    EDX=000009ce ES=0000 EDI=00003666 GS=014f
    Bytes at CS:EIP:
    ff 1e bc 03 8b 46 f2 c9 c2 0a 00 6e 00 00 00 7d
    Stack dump:
    00010000 00120000 00000000 40c60000 01fa0003 17e0005c 000123c4 0faf0080 36660000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000

    Any ideas as to what to do?
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    There's not much to the little bugger and it sounds like it might be corrupt. There are other, better alternatives available, if you do a web search.

    But to restore Windows charmap, go to Control Panel>Add/Remove Programs>windows setup>system tools.

    Select details> and uncheck charmap.

    Reboot, go back and recheck char map and follow the prompts -- have your Windows CD handy when prompted for a disk, or enter c:\windows\options\cabs as the location to restore from when prompted.
     
  3. Lavada5

    Lavada5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks for your help. I hadn't thought of looking for a similar program since I use Character Map so seldom. I have had a similar problem with Hearts since I upgraded McAfee VirusScan. Still can't play Solitaire, Hearts or FreeCell, and I have tried many suggestions. Could it be these programs aren't compatible with the VirusScan? Doesn't make sense that McAfee would do that.
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    It is a fact that the Windows card games have conflicts with many monitoring programs. There are known issues with Symantec's Cleansweep and Grisoft AVG for example. And we've seen an assortment of others. I haven't heard of McAfee conflicting with all of those, but it should be fairly easy to test by disabling McAfee temporarily.

    You can go to start and run msconfig

    Click on the Startup tab and uncheck McAfee and just about everything except Scanregistry and Systray for a test. Then go back and reenable them all or selectively if that allowed them to work.

    There may be some specific McAfee function (such as alogserv.exe) which you don't really need running and can disable either temporarily or permanently.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60266

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice