1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Chat software for games

Discussion in 'Games' started by bonk, Feb 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bonk

    bonk Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    What is the best Ventrilo or TeamSpeak or Roger Wilco.....which will not take up too much resources.......or better ones to chat when playing a game...need one that works with more than two player tho.
     
  2. renegade X

    renegade X

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    569
    None of the above, check out xfire, it is free. The best part about xfire is that it is interfaced into just about every game. Check it out it is the only way to game.
     
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,063
    First Name:
    James
  4. bonk

    bonk Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    I'll check it out ...Thanks for the heads up.


    PS. does XFire need a server and a Client
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,063
    First Name:
    James
    no. It's all through them. The program itself runs quietly in the background.

    My handle on xfire is Couriant (or Couriant79, one of the two)
     
  6. bonk

    bonk Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    OK

    Getting people to install Xfire..........and Couriant have put your handle down for safe keeping.
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,063
    First Name:
    James
    cool :) would be looking forward to that C&C game :D
     
  8. renegade X

    renegade X

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    569
    Cool. Have fun guys.
     
  9. bonk

    bonk Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Tried XFire with 4 of us and 3 was OK but when we go 4 it goes all studdery.

    We have made a chat room and chose 4 as the amount for the chat room and have tried all PCs for the host and is the same.

    We have set the settings at different places but it is still the same for 4

    Is there a way to use a Server for the host as I see the option but am unsure how to find a Server.

    Anybody using XFire ever experience this problem.
     
  10. decoy.

    decoy.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    I prefer Ventrilo. i didn't know you could do a group voice chat with XFire.
     
  11. bonk

    bonk Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Well you can in XFire

    However at the moment we have gone back to Ventrilio because of the problems in XFire.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544015

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice