1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CHECK YOUR IP ADDRESS

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Reviews' started by $teve, Jan 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. $teve

    $teve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    <A HREF="http://www.lawrencegoetz.com/programs/ipinfo/">SEE YOUR IP ADDRESS</A>


    may be usful to some;)
     
  2. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    going to a dos prompt (command Prompt) on your computer and typing in ipconfig and hitting enter will get you that info.

    Better yet, it will tell you what Gateway you are on, as well your subnet mask. It will tell you this information regarding your own network connections, as well as when you are connected to the internet.

    Go here for more info concerning this usefull little tool, which is included in at least Win98 and up!
     
  3. $teve

    $teve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    yes randy...it also tells you that on the web page.......but this one gives you a nice orange background to look at:)
    besides,not everyone know how to get to a command prompt.

    ;) good luck mate
     
  4. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    Gee, it only shows my ISP and firewall addy and not my real one! :D
     
  5. jose

    jose

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    I just tried both ways website and dos-prompt.
    Neither IP address, subnet Mark nor Default Gateway report the same number as the website's one! why?
    Jose
     
  6. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    Could be 'cuz you have a firewall!
     
  7. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
  8. Dingus

    Dingus

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    £steve and RandyG, Can you tell me why when I use both of your methods I get a different answer. :confused:
     
  9. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    The one on the web page could be showing the IP address of a computer at your ISP, your proxy, firewall, or router.
     
  10. tushkahoma

    tushkahoma

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Better yet try this:

    ipconfig/all

    This command will show everything.
     
  11. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    ipconfig /all
     
  12. Dingus

    Dingus

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Thanks guys, both sem to work. However both also whizz past all the info. Dos used to allow you to scroll the screen or display it with the extensions /p or /w but this doesn't seem to work.

    I'll keep experimenting.
    TA :D
     
  13. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    Dingus,

    even though running the command is possible through Start, Run I find that it scrolls all the info too afst to see for me as well.

    I open a DOS window by using a shortcut to it with the properties set to C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM

    or you can run command at the Start, Run

    This will open a window that you can run the ipconfig command in.
     
  14. Stoner

    Stoner Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    44,931
    I'm on 98se. I made a shortcut to Winipcfg.exe( in the Windows folder) and get the same info and stay in Windows.
     
  15. Dingus

    Dingus

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,161
    Randy that done it perfect without scrolling. A much better way.

    Stoner thanks but that doesn't give enough info, but thanks anyway for your suggestion. By the way, I would find out what your nickname means in Scotland, I think you might change it.

    Another problem solved. :D
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113947

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice