1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Chernobyl Virus potential threat on xp?

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by djfony, Nov 20, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. djfony

    djfony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6
    does the chernobyl virus go dead in xp? I am running it now (thanks to this virus) and hopefully it wont explode on the 25th..


    I got this virus from the hewlitt packard website and at first it spread like wildfire through a ton of exes. I ran the anti virus prog and I have been able to narrow it down to one folder containing 152 infected files...

    Now this is the weird part

    This folder does not exist... I turned on the "see invisible ****" feature and still nothing... its location is as follows:

    c:/undo/

    thats it.. thats the dir with all the infected files in it..

    some of the files are:

    backup.cab
    addreg.exe
    cdcopier.exe
    dllhost.exe
    fontview.exe

    now... what the hell do I do now? times running short :(
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
  3. djfony

    djfony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6
    Ive already ran that one before.. doesnt do anything to the files..
    Im using norton 2002 to work with the virus.

    All Im really concerned about is whether or not the virus works in XP
     
  4. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Well I've asked for you some help....this one is over my head


    Sorry I couldn't help

    Savvy :)
     
  5. Max19

    Max19 Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,222
    Did you format your hard drive before installing Windows XP, or did you just do an upgrade?
     
  6. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Max can handle this... its more than i have knowledge of....thanks Max


    Savvy :)
     
  7. djfony

    djfony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6
    I upgraded
     
  8. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I would contact symantec about this. Even go for a phone contact if you can. According to the info on their CIH link, this should not affect Win NT and 2k systems. XP is is built more on that model.

    But obviously you are getting infected.

    Since CIH goes for the cmos/BIOS -- it should still be feared if it is active.

    http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/cih.html

    If you can't get the question authoritatively resolved in the next day or so -- set your system date back to give you sufficient time.
    -
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59073

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice