1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Chge to 128-bit encryption?

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by bigdog55, Sep 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bigdog55

    bigdog55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Using Win2k pro version how do you change to 128-bit encryption? Are there any negatives to changing to this higher level of encryption? Tried logging onto a new financial website that would not allow me to enter without using 128 bit.
     
  2. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
  3. bigdog55

    bigdog55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    I have the latest version already IE6 w/SP1. "About" says I am using 6.0.2800.1106 and clearly says I am using 56-bit Cypher Strength. What I need to know is where do I go within the program to shift to 128-bit encryption? I've looked everywhere in "Internet Options" (under Tools) and cannot figure out where to turn 128-bit encryption on. Any other suggestions?
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,185
    First Name:
    Derek
  5. bigdog55

    bigdog55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Derek, you were the first to tell me that I needed this dl file which I have now loaded but still cannot find where to turn on 128-bit encryption? Interestinly though when I go into the "About" tab, the version no. and encryption lines are "blank". Don't know why that is but it changed right after I loaded the high encryption pack. Any other suggestions???
     
  6. bigdog55

    bigdog55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks to everyone for the help. I've got 128-bit encryption now showing and working. The download of the "high encryption pack" off the MS DL site did the trick. Thanks to Derek - Brit's to the rescue of another American, yeah!
     
  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,185
    First Name:
    Derek
    Thanks for the kind words

    It's one of the M$ lesser known features(Bugs?) that win 2000 doesn't automatically update to 128 encryption when IE5.5 or 6 is installed unlike other M$ operating systems.

    Don't ask me why but big Billy must have his reasons
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167127

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice