CHKDSK will not go away,,,help please

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sunliner

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
Messages
13
I'm working my way through a boot problem and in the process, I requested CHKDSK /r to run. Earlier, I had run chkdsk and it reported a dirty volume, then after running chkdsk /r, it ran for hours but reported everything as 'clean'. It stopped on the 'report screen' and did not do anything for about an hour, so I power cycled.
Now my problem is this: everytime I try to turn the computer on, CHKDSK launches again, before windows comes up. I let it run again last night but it did the same thing, stopped after the test. So I can't get into Windows, safe mode or otherwise. I looked for a way to kill Chkdsk from the set up area but don't see it. Any ideas?
It's a Dell Inspiron running Windows XP. thanks in advance
-Mike
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
If you interrupted chkdsk, especially chkdsk /r, then you have no doubt caused damage to the file system. You powered off when it was likely in a state resembling an unemptied buffer, where files that were being moved were in the process when they were stopped. That leaves damaged files. The fact that it was the report screen may have lead to minimal or no damage.

But the very fact that it took so long is also indicative of a problem. You should definitely make sure that you have a recent, full system backup. If you don't, it's too late now, but you should make sure that all your personal files are backed up.

Next, run a diagnostic from the manufacturer (or other one - better to try more than one. A bootable test may be best.).

Free Hard Drive Testing Applications:
HD Tune
Ariolic Disk Scanner (Checks disk for read errors)
Manufacturer's Tests
CheckDisk 1.03 (Marks bad sectors as unusable.)
HDAT2 (Diagnostics and temporary bad sector recovery)
MHDD Low-level Diagnostics
Bootable Hitachi Drive Fitness Test Floppy or CD Image (works on most drives)

Hard Drive Manufacturers' Diagnostic Utilities Links:
TachTech
BleepingComputer
 

sunliner

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
Messages
13
Thanks for the quick reply!
I stumbled upon a diagnostic that was built in (I think via hitting f12 on start up?...it was late last night...) and ran every diagnostic tool there...it stated everything passed, including all HD tests. As of the last CHKDSK, everything was clean.
I'm going to get a SATA/USB cable and see if I can rescue some files over to my 10 year old,slow but functioning other PC for now.
If you have time, the thread about where all this started is here:http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?t=1087743&goto=newpost . If you don't, believe me I understand.
thanks again
-Mike
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
It can't be said enough that you should always have backups. Drives fail out of nowhere, suddenly at times.

You can make full backups of your entire system periodically, or of just one system that is working the way you want it to, and just use that as your "factory restore" so you don't need to start from scratch with a new drive.

If you have an external drive (and you can use DVD's, too, as a slightly less desirable option), you can make an exact image of your drive, with all its operating system, programs, and files, when it is running well, and use that image to restore your sysem if need be. It can even be restored to a new hard drive should yours fail. Actually, the recovery disks from the manufacturer are often drive images. But they only allow you to restore to day 1.

If you have an image of that original installation to go back to if necessary, and then also make an occasional image so that changes are recorded, you can even restore your entire system to a more recent date if you choose. No more starting from scratch and reinstalling everything. And the images can even be mounted as drives in Computer so that you can get back individual files and folders. So no other type of backup is needed.

Most (all the commercial ones) have scheduling options so they can run in the background and make regular drive backups. And they can also create "differential" backups, meaning that only the changes from the original are recorded in the backup, and that small file when combined with the original, full backup gives you date options, like System Restore, for restoring your system. Since the differental backups are so small typically, you have have many backups on an external drive without using the space that would be needed for that number of full ones.

These are free, and so don't have the full options, of course:

Macrium Reflect
Paragon Drive Backup Express


Some more choices, if you think that $29 or $49 is a good amount to pay for peace of mind (Most of us use Acronis, but I'm using Paragon Drive Backup 9 at the moment):

Commercial Apps:

Paragon Drive Backup
Easy Image
[email protected] Disk Image
O&O DiskImage
Acronis True Image Home

(PS. An image usually occupies about 60% of the used space on your drive. So if you have 20 GB's used on your drive, an image will be around 12 GB's, so many can be fit on an external drive.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
It should be more than obvious that the problem was due to opening the case. It will not be repaired by software until the problem inside the case is solved. It is very easy to hit against something and dislodge it while inside. You really need to check all connections, cables (on both ends), and cards in their slots to be sure (including RAM, by removing and reseating). Then, go into BIOS and make sure all is well (that the right amount of RAM is listed, the drives all show, etc.).
 

sunliner

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
Messages
13
I tend to agree about the original problem since it worked just before the cleaning; however I've unplugged and replugged everything I can see and nothing worked. I'm always careful not touch anything inside when dusting, but I must have loosened or contacted something, my first guess is the video card but it worked earlier in the process when I could get into safe mode . At any rate, I can't get past the CHKDSK deal, so I hosed myself either way. thanks for trying though and will definitely do one of those back up options once I do get straightened out.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top