Choose the program you want to use to open this file

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

csay

Hi, I'm a newbie to this site and am hoping someone out there, who is a lot better with computers than me, will be able to help. I am having a very similar problem to the one discussed here:

http://forums.techguy.org/windows-vista/913209-solved-choose-program-you-want.html

Norton removed a virus and now I seem to be having problems opening files etc.

I having a very similar problem right down to the scroll function on the touchpad not working. When I try to open programs from my desktop or from the start menu I get the following message:

Choose the program you want to use to open this file.

When I try to open Microsoft Office programs I get the following:

C:/program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\ Office12\EXCEL.EXE

Application not found.

OR

This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Create an association in the Set Associations control panel

I can open both Internet Explorer and Windows Live Mail, but they seem to be the only 2 at present.

I have tried your suggested fix - downloading the .exe fix and merging it with the registry. I get the following message:

The keys and values contained in C:\Users\Claire\Desktop\exefix_cu.reg have been successfully added to the registry.

But no change to my problems.

Hope I have given you enough info. I'm not that great at computer jargon so please be patient with me and let me know if you need any more info. Any suggestions and help gratefully received

Thanks
Claire

csay

I have solved this problem - I searched around on the internet and found as you say lots of people seem to be having the same problem. One person said to apply a .REG fix, reboot then apply the .EXE fix. This worked for me, don't know why or how just glad it did!!