1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Choosing a laptop

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by layperson, Apr 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. layperson

layperson Thread Starter

Hi, I'm a tech newbie who will appreciate layspeak very much. I want to purchase a new laptop and am getting very confused with the specs. I post a lot of photos onto my blog, tend to open too many applications at the same time, surf A LOT and will like to use my laptop to do simple design work, eg gift cards. I'm thinking of getting a Dell laptop. I am currently using a 7-year-old NEC laptop that lags so much, it's driving me up the wall!

Dell Vostro 1520 laptop which runs on Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T9550 (2.66 GHz, 6 MB L2 cache, 1066 MHz FSB) approx. USD500

Dell Inspiron 14 which runs on Intel® Pentium® Processor T4400 (2.2GHz / 800FSB / 1MB) approx. USD490

New Dell Inspiron 14 which runs on Intel® Pentium® Processor T4400 (2.2GHz / 800FSB / 1MB) approx. USD710

Will the different processors offered make a difference in speed? Is it worth paying USD200 more for the new Dell Inspiron? What else should I look out for apart from the processors, eg, RAM? Please help me make an educated choice.

Thanks!

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    i would certainly look for Memory - 3GB will be fine for 32bit windows 7, and you can have 4GB but it will not use it all - or on 64bit windows 7 - it will see all the memory
    theres $220 dollars difference in the prices listed - what is you maximum budget - and would you consider other makes - the US experts here often see excellent deals available in US every now and again - recently a toshiba was at a very low price almost saving $300 on similar models

i would NOT get anything with just 2GB of memory

3. layperson