1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Choppy/laggy when I drag windows on my laptop?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Heinstar, Apr 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Heinstar

    Heinstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Hi, I just bought a new hard drive for my NEC Lavie LL750/B laptop which I bought in 2002 in japan because my other hard drive died. I installed WinXp onto my new hard drive but I encountered a new problem. The sound is not working and whenever I drag any windows or scroll a website, it gets choppy/laggy. I noticed that in my device manager there's question marks on some devices but I don't think they are related to GPU or soundcard. I don't think the updating works in device manager because it keeps saying windows can't find the software. How can I fix this problem?

    Here's the pics of my device manager: http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/
     
  2. Officer Dibble

    Officer Dibble

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    544
    The problem is that from time to time XP is not able to recognise every piece of hardware within a computer. For XP to handle various pieces of hardware in a computer it needs drivers. These drivers help the hardare and XP cooperate and comunicate effectively - and allows XP to use every feature of that hardware.

    The yellow marks in your image are all hardware that XP needs these drivers for. Sadly, I've had a bit of a look around and as yet I haven't spotted any.

    If the laptop didn't originally have XP on, what was on it?

    If the laptop originally had XP on, do you have the original XP Operating System and drivers disk that came with the laptop?
     
  3. Heinstar

    Heinstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    thanks for the reply, yes the laptop did originally have xp and it was working fine until the hard drive died couple of years ago. The laptop did come with some cd i believe, but I need to find it. I tried looking for the driver in japanese NEC site but they appear to only have softwares for my model. I might need to search in google further as well.
    EDIT: I also went to the NEC/laptop's website 121ware.com but they only had applications for my model
     
  4. Officer Dibble

    Officer Dibble

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    544
    It looks like you will need to find the disk... alternatively, you could have a look on eBay. If someone is selling a laptop that is the same as yours you may be able to ask them for a copy of their drivers disk or come to some other arrangement.
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Download SIW: http://www.gtopala.com/siw-download.html

    Look under the Hardware -> PCI section for the hardware detected.
    Post a screenshot of all the items it shows, you can resize the Window show it shows all of it.
     
  6. Heinstar

    Heinstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Download this driver and see if it installs: http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownlo...x?type=2.7&product=2.7.5.3.4.3.1&lang=English

    If not we can modify it so that it installs. It should cover the chipset and video.

    This should be the audio driver: http://152.104.125.41/downloads/dow...=23&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false
    Realtek AC97, second one down - the executable file: http://152.104.125.41/downloads/dow...=23&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false

    This should be the Ethernet driver: http://152.104.125.41/downloads/dow...d=6&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false
    First download, the auto installer.

    Also, in SIW, go to Hardware -> System Summary and show us what it says there.

    If the all the drivers I posted install successfully, go to Device Manager and take a screenshot to see what other drivers we need. If the ATI drivers fail to install then wait on posting the screenshot.
     
  8. Heinstar

    Heinstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    The AMD driver wasn't compatible with my hardware. The Realtek AC97 exe also didn't work as well and when i was installing it didn't have a Microsoft signature. It also now shows in device manager - Sound video and game controllers the Reaktek AC97' with the exclamation mark with the sound icon. Besides that, Ethernet auto installer seemed to have installed properly.
    This is my hardware summary: http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/4539771371/sizes/o/
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  10. Heinstar

    Heinstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    The installer says that I need .NET framework 2.0 or higher to make it work. Which one should I get?
    EDIT-nm I got .NET framework 2.0 sp2 and it's working
    EDIT-I let the Mobility Modder browse to C:\ATI\Support\10-02_legacy_xp32-64_dd_ccc and modified it but that didn't fix it. I also uninstalled the ATI driver and let Mobility Modder browse to the same file location but it's the same.
     
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    After you modify the driver you must re-run the installer as described here:
     
  12. Heinstar

    Heinstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks!, I can't believe it worked. I now just need the sound to work. I did a system restore to the earliest possible just in case if I have deleted anything in device manager and reinstalled the ati drivers with mod again which worked. But when I install the WDM_A406.exe it says that it has not passed windows logo testing etc. As click continue anyway & restart the sound still isn't working. In WMP9 I get a error 0xC00D11BA cannot play the file. The Realtek icon has an exclamation mark in device manager which you can see here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/4544739281/
    When I right click properties in the Realtek icon, in device status it says This device cannot start. (Code 10)
    Also do I need to install a auto isntaller Ethernet driver? i don't think I need it since internet is working.
     
  13. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Ok, Realtek may not be the sound chip then. Go to Add/Remove Programs and uninstall the Realtek AC97 drivers.

    In SIW go back to Hardware -> PCI and click on Audio Device, the bottom window should change to show the details for the Audio device. Post a new screenshot of the results.
     
  14. Heinstar

    Heinstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
  15. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/917593

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice