Choppy streaming video

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kirpalsk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
16
Hello,

my streaming video has been getting worse and worse. A couple weeks ago it started getting choppy occasionally, but it didn't happen every time. Now, it does - sometimes it will play well longer than others, but it always gets choppy and unwatchable by about 10 minutes in. Also, if I leave the window the player is in, the player very frequently will crash, whether it's Flash player or Divx.

I'm running Vista on a pretty old machine, any specs you need please let me know.

I cleared my browser history, and that really didn't help.

Thanks!
 

Oddba11

Jim
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
8,177
You need to investigate the crashing. Typical streaming issues are network/ISP related. However, those issues will not cause the PC or apps to crash. So you need to investigate and find the cause of the crashing first.
 

kirpalsk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
16
Okay, pardon my ignorance, but how would I go about doing that?

Oh, and...GO 'NINERS!
 

Oddba11

Jim
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
8,177
What exactly do you mean by "crash"? Is the player simply locking up? ...closing on its own? Check Windows Event Viewer to see if Windows is logging the "crash".
 

kirpalsk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
16
I have the player open in a browser window in Firefox, and it literally says "Sorry, the Adobe Flash (or whichever) Player has crashed. I've cleared my history and cookies, of course...
 

kirpalsk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
16
Good idea, but it didn't work - I couldn't even get a player to work. And the pop-ups were ridiculous, but I think that's just because I never use it and the pop-up blocker sucks.
 

Oddba11

Jim
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
8,177
If the "player" doesn't work in IE, then it's not installed or the wrong version is installed. As for popups, that will depend upon the site you are trying to use. Most (youtube for example) don't have a "ridiculous" amount of popups.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top