1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Choppy Video Streaming from internet

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by db301, Dec 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. db301

    db301 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Hello,

    I have an older computer:

    Windows XP Pro
    Version 2002
    SP3
    Pentium 4
    2.50 GHZ
    512 RAM
    C Drive 120 GB (70 GB free)

    My trouble is while viewing streaming video from the internet, the video is extremely choppy to the point of being unwatchable. The sound for the video streams fine, but the video itself skips and pauses for a second or two every two or three seconds, randomly. It never runs smooth.

    A good example of a website that does this is trying to view Hockey highlights from games on ESPN.COM. Very choppy.

    It wasn't always choppy on ESPN, but now they are. I don't know what happened, to change how the videos play.

    Most videos from YouTube stream fine.

    Other sites do not, like ESPN.

    Videos downloaded and viewed play fine.

    I've googled and searched, and found possible solutions from I need more memory on my PC to Flash video is just terrible, live with it.

    So far I've tried (all from ideas from searches):

    -changing hardware acceleration from none to full and every setting in between
    -removing unused programs
    -disabling background virus scans
    -unchecking "enable write combining" in display properties
    -reducing other applications during streaming video viewing. Actually, when I view a video stream there is email and max 3 Firefox windows open. CPU is quiet and other FF windows are not streaming anything.
    -Update drivers (they already were)
    -update flash (it already is)
    -update flash plugins (already were)
    -go backward, and use earlier versions of Flash or WMP. This I haven't done, because it seems like a crap shoot that could mess up other applications.

    Any help or ideas would be appreciated.

    I will try and provide more information about my machine if needed, but you may need to direct me as to where to find it.

    Please help!

    Don
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Howdy,

    lets see what you Internet speed is

    Go to the link below and click on Begin test

    http://www.speedtest.net/

    Post the results of

    Ping
    Download
    Upload
     
  3. db301

    db301 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    [​IMG]


    How do the results seem to you?

    If it was an internet speed problem, wouldn't it happen with every site that streams videos?
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    No Internet speed is OK....first thing to check.

    512MB memory is a bit low.....

    Can you give me a link to the site so I can test it with my PC or have you subscribe?
     
  5. db301

    db301 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    109
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Yea works Ok for me.....and you asy it is only that one site you have problems with?

    You could post your HijackThis log and see if anything shows up


    Download HijackThis to your desktop
    • Click on Executable
    • Click Run and Install
    • it will launch Hijack This
    • Click on "scan system and save a logfile" usually in notepad
    • Copy and Paste the logfile in your next post
    • Using Ctrl+A to copy All and Ctrl+C to copy and Ctrl+V to paste.
     
  7. db301

    db301 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Here you go:

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4
    Scan saved at 9:48:35 AM, on 12/17/2010
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\AskBarDis\bar\bin\AskService.exe
    C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\Engine\17.8.0.5\ccSvcHst.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\PSIService.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\SoftwareUpdate\YahooAUService.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\Engine\17.8.0.5\ccSvcHst.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
    C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Search Protection\SearchProtection.exe
    C:\Program Files\Unlocker\UnlockerAssistant.exe
    C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Java Update\jusched.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\ymsgr_tray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\mscorsvw.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Thunderbird\thunderbird.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Don\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sb/msgr9/*http://www.yahoo.com/ext/search/search.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sp/msgr9/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/msgr9/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sb/msgr9/*http://www.yahoo.com/ext/search/search.html
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sp/msgr9/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/msgr9/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R3 - URLSearchHook: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn0\yt.dll
    O2 - BHO: &Yahoo! Toolbar Helper - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn0\yt.dll
    O2 - BHO: Spybot-S&D IE Protection - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: Symantec Intrusion Prevention - {6D53EC84-6AAE-4787-AEEE-F4628F01010C} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\Engine\17.8.0.5\IPSBHO.DLL
    O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
    O2 - BHO: JQSIEStartDetectorImpl - {E7E6F031-17CE-4C07-BC86-EABFE594F69C} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\lib\deploy\jqs\ie\jqs_plugin.dll
    O2 - BHO: SingleInstance Class - {FDAD4DA1-61A2-4FD8-9C17-86F7AC245081} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn0\YTSingleInstance.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn0\yt.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [YSearchProtection] "C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Search Protection\SearchProtection.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UnlockerAssistant] "C:\Program Files\Unlocker\UnlockerAssistant.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ZoneAlarm Client] "C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Java Update\jusched.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Messenger (Yahoo!)] "C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\YahooMessenger.exe" -quiet
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Search Protection] C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Search Protection\SearchProtection.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\RunOnce: [MPlayer2_FixUp] C:\WINDOWS\inf\unregmp2.exe /Fixups
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Spybot - Search & Destroy Configuration - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O23 - Service: ASKService - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\AskBarDis\bar\bin\AskService.exe
    O23 - Service: Java Quick Starter (JavaQuickStarterService) - Sun Microsystems, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe
    O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus (NAV) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\Engine\17.8.0.5\ccSvcHst.exe
    O23 - Service: ProtexisLicensing - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\PSIService.exe
    O23 - Service: TrueVector Internet Monitor (vsmon) - Check Point Software Technologies LTD - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
    O23 - Service: Yahoo! Updater (YahooAUService) - Yahoo! Inc. - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\SoftwareUpdate\YahooAUService.exe

    --
    End of file - 6355 bytes
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Are using Firefox or IE8..if your using Firefox try IE8
     
  9. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Also you can try uninstall Yahoo tool bar as a test
     
  10. db301

    db301 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    I am using FF, but I tried the link I gave you in IE8 and it was about the same.

    Along with the choppyness on that link is sometimes a square of lagging video right in the center of the video that shows up for a split second, like a pixilation from a lag, and then it's gone.

    I don't see a Yahoo tool bar in FF, I have a Google seach field in the navigation toolbar but not sure how to remove it if that's what you meant.
     
  11. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    You say it use to work OK on this site about how long ago was that?
     
  12. db301

    db301 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    I would guess about a year ago. I would watch NHL highlights for the games I missed, but around spring playoff time the website changed and went to Flash I think and the videos were choppy. Now they have progressed to being too choppy to watch, which is very disappointing.
     
  13. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    How do you know you have the lasted flash player?

    And a year ago did you have ZoneAlarm and Norton Anti-Virus on that PC?

    New flash player

    http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/
     
  14. db301

    db301 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    From this link, there is an option to read what flash player is running and it says I have the latest.

    http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/155/tn_15507.html

    Yes I have used Norton and Zonealarm for several years now.
     
  15. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    This is a long shot but you could try lowering you screen resolutiion
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/969015