Chrombook Advice

Tabvla

I am looking to purchase a very portable laptop and am considering a Chromebook as the best option. As I have no experience of Chromebook (or of Chrome, I use Firefox) I would appreciate advice with regards to what I should be looking for in the specification in terms of..... well in terms of everything.

Price is a factor, but not the main one. Portable, lightweight, robust, does everything that one needs "on the road"...... Reputable manufacturer would also be an important consideration. Lenovo, Asus, Acer, HP..... are in my view trusted brands.

Thanks for suggestions.

T.

Hi Tabvla,

I am currently replying to you on a Samsung Chromebook 3
I love mine, it's a good build, somewhat reasonable price (bought mine from Costco) lightweight, and portable
runs everything in the browser fast and easy, makes for a good Schoolwork/work device
I know you are looking for something other than Samsung but that's my take :)

Best regards,

plodr

Liz
Check this chart to be sure you don't buy a model that only gets a year or two of updates. The way it stands now with the Chrome browser as part of ChromeOS, once the browser no longer gets updated, sites will say "browser not supported, update your browser".
https://support.google.com/chrome/a/answer/6220366?hl=en

Google is working on removing the browser from the OS so you can continue to use the device after it's AUE date.

Don't buy a device with only 1 or 2 years of updates remaining.

Check this chart to be sure you don't buy a model that only gets a year or two of updates. The way it stands now with the Chrome browser as part of ChromeOS, once the browser no longer gets updated, sites will say "browser not supported, update your browser".
https://support.google.com/chrome/a/answer/6220366?hl=en

Google is working on removing the browser from the OS so you can continue to use the device after it's AUE date.

Don't buy a device with only 1 or 2 years of updates remaining.