1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Chrome Keeps Calling for Additional Plug-In!

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Galleherjazz, Nov 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Galleherjazz

    Galleherjazz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    First Name:
    Stephen
    Here is the issue!

    I keep getting the prompt in my Chrome browser (15.0.874.106) "An additional plug-in is required to display some elements on this page." It has an "Install plug-in" tab. Clicking on that tab is useless. The prompt reappears after each tab/page mounts. When I click on "Problems installing?," it opens to a page about WINDOWS MEDIA PLAYER AND JAVA, it directs me to a website (Visit http://port25.technet.com/pages/windows-media-player-firefox-plugin-download.aspx.) I download from there, and confirm that WMP is working ok. But then...the prompt reappears!!

    How can I eliminate this prompt? :cool:

    Here are the technical details from TSG SysInfo:

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 930 @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 26 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 9207 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5450, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 941772 MB, Free - 506228 MB; D: Total - 11993 MB, Free - 1461 MB; K: Total - 152588 MB, Free - 54902 MB; L: Total - 1430796 MB, Free - 520250 MB;
    Motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION, 2A86
    Antivirus: Norton Internet Security, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. iRiguez

    iRiguez

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Reinstall chrome. I have had this issue before as well, and a fresh re-install worked.
     
  3. Galleherjazz

    Galleherjazz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    First Name:
    Stephen
    I tried reinstalling Chrome. The problem persists. What about uninstalling Chrome and all of its add-ons and then reinstalling?
    Do you think that might do it?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025457

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice