Chrome opening multiple of its Chrome web pages at once

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hisbeauty4ashes

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
1,474
Hi I have a Lenovo 81DJ Windows 10 with 12 gigs of memory. When I go to click on google Chrome it opens multiple of its own google Chrome web pages all at once. I noticed it because my fan would get really loud so I clicked on task manager and would see 9 to 14 pages all open at one time. I cleaned google too and it still does it. It eats my memory so not sure why this is happening.

Any ideas?
 

hisbeauty4ashes

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
1,474
I did all it said and it is still opening all these tabs but you do not see them on the webpage itself. What the heck! I m frustrated! Is there a better browser out there that does not open invisible pages and eats your memory!?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,192
First Name
Liz
I don't use chrome.

My preferred browser is PaleMoon but if you aren't at all familiar with Firefox, Palemoon is not for you.

You could try Opera, similar to chrome, or Firefox.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
369
First Name
Amy
Do you see tabs in the Chrome browser opening? Or do you see Chrome tasks in Task Manager? They're 2 different things.

Are you logged into Chrome?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,930
I don't use Google Chrome myself but did read somewhere that it ensures that it appears fast by simply starting to open every link on any page/site that the user goes to, without waiting for a specific link to be chosen. In this way it appears lightning fast to the user but does take up lots of memory in the process.

I have no way of knowing if that story is true, it may have been started by a rival in the browser business!
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Messages
323
What I would do is reinstall chrome and check for updates on Help -> About Google Chrome

Browser opening multiple tabs could also be related to malware.
 

Couriant

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
35,664
First Name
James
What websites are showing up? Ones that you have been to?

Not sure if you did this yet, but check the On Startup page in Settings:

upload_2019-3-4_7-9-39.png

If it's set to any other option other than Open the New Tab page, then select that instead.
 

hisbeauty4ashes

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
1,474
Do you see tabs in the Chrome browser opening? Or do you see Chrome tasks in Task Manager? They're 2 different things.

Are you logged into Chrome?
I see it in task manager and that is when my cpu goes to 100 Percent
 

hisbeauty4ashes

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
1,474
I don't use Google Chrome myself but did read somewhere that it ensures that it appears fast by simply starting to open every link on any page/site that the user goes to, without waiting for a specific link to be chosen. In this way it appears lightning fast to the user but does take up lots of memory in the process.

I have no way of knowing if that story is true, it may have been started by a rival in the browser business!
Yes well as soon as it opens it totally takes up my memory and my fan comes on immediately so I know it is google.
 

hisbeauty4ashes

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
1,474
What I would do is reinstall chrome and check for updates on Help -> About Google Chrome

Browser opening multiple tabs could also be related to malware.
Hi thanks! I did all the above still have the issue I feel like I have tried it all. So frustrating.
 

hisbeauty4ashes

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
1,474
What websites are showing up? Ones that you have been to?

Not sure if you did this yet, but check the On Startup page in Settings:

View attachment 268774

If it's set to any other option other than Open the New Tab page, then select that instead.
Yes I did the above as well through the link at the top of the page showed me as well.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,192
First Name
Liz
Your screen shot shows 4 instances of chrome and all say very low under power usage. 32% of your RAM is being used and that is a far cry from most of the memory. You have 68% unused memory. Your CPU is at 7%. Starting with Windows 7 forward, Windows was designed to use lots of RAM.

Work on getting only one tab to open. There is no problem with the RAM nor the CPU usage.
 
Last edited:
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top