1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Chronically resets to "Use a proxy server . . ."

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Alex Ethridge, Feb 22, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,049
    I have reset this machine to not use a proxy server over and over and over; but, it keeps coming back to "Use a proxy server . . .". and "Page cannot be displayed".

    This connection does not/cannot use a Proxy Server.
     
  2. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,049
    Additional information:

    I just now found this setting in the Registry at:
    HKEY_USERS> S-1-5-21-1266249176-2499705482-3544135198-1000> Software> Microsoft> Windows> CurrentVersion> Internet Settings> (See attached image)

    I blanked the setting and it came back all on its own.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Please download AdwCleaner.

    • Double-click the adwcleaner.exe to run the tool.
    • Click Scan.
    • When the scan is finished, click Cleaning.
    • When the cleaning process is over, click Logfile and a Notepad window will be opened.
    • Please post the contents into your next reply.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------

    Please download and run the free Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.

    • Select the language and click OK.
    • Accept the agreement.
    • Make sure the Enable the Free Trial box is deselected and the Launch Malwarebytes Anti-Malware box is selected, and then click on Finish.
    • If an update is found, it will download and install the latest version.
    • Once the program has loaded, select Scan Now.
    • The scan may take some time to complete, so please be patient.
    • When the scan is completed, click on Quarantine All.
    • Click on Copy to Clipboard.
    • Paste the contents into your next reply.
    • You may be prompted to restart the computer instead, to complete the removal process.
    • If indeed prompted, upon restart, launch Malwarebytes Anti-Malware again and select History > Application Logs.
    • Find your Scan Log (the date when run will identify it).
    • Select the right box, then hit the View button. The History Log window will open.
    • At the bottom of that window are two options, Copy to Clipboard and Export.
    • Select Copy to Clipboard.
    • Paste the contents into your next reply.
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,761
    Still need help with this?
     
  5. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,049
    I'll be finding out for sure tonight.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1143622

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice