1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cisco IOS-XR username-prompt

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Caspian22, Oct 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Caspian22

    Caspian22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,

    Does anyone know how to change the username prompt on a Cisco IOS-XR device, so that when you are logging in to the device, instead of being asked for a username, you are asked for " some text: ".

    On Cisco IOS, this is done by "aaa authentication username-prompt 'some text' ". I havent found an equivalent for this command on IOS-XR.

    Any ideas? Your help is much appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. Memnoch322

    Memnoch322

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    880
    The Warning Banner? Or are you talking about something else?
     
  3. Caspian22

    Caspian22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I mean the actual username prompt. When I try to login, I get the following:

    Connected to router.
    Escape character is ^].
    User Access Verification
    Username:

    I only need to change the last line.
     
  4. Memnoch322

    Memnoch322

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    880
    Strange, that it is not the same command you are used to. Cisco is usually really good at keeping the basics the same.
     
  5. O111111O

    O111111O

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    894
    banner login delimiter message delimiter

    You can't actually change the "username" prompt.

    Curious; where are you running XR?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Cisco username prompt
  1. willymwangi
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    342
  2. nitehawk645
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    483
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/645265

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice