1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cisco Linksys E1200 router problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gfolkins, Mar 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gfolkins

    gfolkins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Hi,

    I have a Cisco Linksys E1200 wireless-N router.

    Here's the problem:

    Very frequently, it kicks me off the internet for usually up to 30 seconds at a time, and puts me back on without me even having to do anything.

    The Network icon in the notification area in the bottom right hand corner of my screen will almost always look like this:

    [​IMG]

    Quite frequently, though, I will get an exclamation mark inside a triangle with a message instead saying No internet access (I don't have a screenshot).

    If I give it a few seconds, usually never more than a minute (30 seconds on average it seems), it corrects itself and gives me back internet access.

    This happens very frequently, and is very annoying if I am downloading something from itunes, watching something on Netflix, or playing a high-bandwidth game on Facebook.

    Does anyone have any suggestions about how to fix this problem? Thanks!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,202
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see if its a dns issue
    post the results from the following ping tests when working and then repeat all the tests when it disconnects and post the results

    the ipconfig /all will identify the default gateway - which you can then use for one of the three ping tests


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. gfolkins

    gfolkins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you for your reply. I've followed your steps, and here's what I've gotten:

    From ipconfig /all:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : FOLGER0912
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 06-26-B6-E4-AC-BC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8152/8158 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-6C-65-30-B8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-B6-E4-AC-BC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::78d4:aff:e18f:a278%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, March 07, 2012 3:26:33 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, March 08, 2012 7:56:09 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234890934
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-92-60-94-00-26-B6-E4-AC-BC
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.71.255.198
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.phub.net.cable.rogers.com:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2888:1ccf:9c03:9322(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2888:1ccf:9c03:9322%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Ping of the default gateway from ipconfig:



    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 0ms



    Pinging www.l.google.com [74.125.115.105] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.115.105: bytes=32 time=75ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.115.105: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=50
    Reply from 74.125.115.105: bytes=32 time=76ms TTL=50
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 74.125.115.105:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 75ms, Maximum = 89ms, Average = 80ms



    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=49

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 52ms, Maximum = 53ms, Average = 52ms



    Something else odd is that sometimes when I do have internet, I can only go to certain sites. For example, sometimes I can go to Wikipedia, other times I can't go to Wikipedia, but can go to other sites like Google. If I wait a while, sometimes sites that were not accessible earlier become accessible. So basically, sometimes it lets me get onto certain websites, other times it won't let me. When my browser won't let me on a certain website and I try to use Ping, it doesn't work either.

    I have also done full scans using Microsoft Security Essentials, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, and Sbybot Search and Destroy, and all three programs say I have no infections or suspicious items.

    I think that's everything you asked me to do. It doesn't make much sense to me, and I appreciate any direction you can give me.
    Thank you,
    Gerald
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,202
    First Name:
    Wayne
  5. gfolkins

    gfolkins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    The Google public DNS has been working good so far. I've had no issues with it yet.

    If I do run into the same problems, is there something I should try next?

    Thank you for your assistance. It's been extremely helpful!
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,202
    First Name:
    Wayne
    repeat the ping tests, get the ISP to do a line quality test

    you may want to put the DNS server IPs into the router itself , incase anyone else has the issues , or you can leave on the PC , it should still work on any other network
     
  7. gfolkins

    gfolkins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    It looks like I may have spoke too soon. I had a very long period of time where it was stable, so I assumed everything was okay; however, a little while ago it was back up to it's same old tricks. I do find the Google DNS service a little bit faster, but I'm still getting kicked off for brief periods of time.

    If I wait 30-60 seconds on average, I seem to get re-connected without doing anything.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,202
    First Name:
    Wayne
    are there other devices on the system that also lose connection
    whats the lights status on the modem or the router?

    if you connect by cable to the router does it work ok

    the ping tests will tell if still a DNS issue

    also a line quality test - from your ISP

    http://www.dslreports.com/linequality
    also as you are on wireless , lets see an xirrus screen shot


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. gfolkins

    gfolkins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    My secondary laptop has the same issues. There is a desktop on the network that belongs to someone else, but it only had the problem once, maybe twice.

    The line quality test on dslreports.com tells me my ip address is not pingable, and when I go ahead to perform a limited test, it says "Alert: Turing tested you were found wanting". I'm not sure what that means.

    This is the screenshot from Xirrus. Mine is the Linksys highlighted in Orange at the top. The signal is 57, and you suggested I need 70 or better... That could be a problem.

    [​IMG]

    I ran the three tests from Xirrus, and here are the results:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    For the speed test, I'm paying for up to 18 Mbps download, and 512Kbps upload. I'm not quite getting what I'm paying for!
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,202
    First Name:
    Wayne
    no thats fine as the numbers are negative so -57 is better than -70
    how is that connected

    i would log into the router and change the wireless channel to use 1
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1044239

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice