1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

'Class Not Registered'.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Spyro9977, Jan 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Spyro9977

    Spyro9977 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I'm currently running a Compaq Presario V4000 (Old, I know) and suddenly it's sound has dissappeared. I found a forum, saying 'use cmd...' but when I try to use the cmd and type in '..', it comes up with 'Class Not Registered.' I'm not a techno nerd or anything, so I can't really describe what my computer is running or anything. But there's no sound, at all, when I go into the sound and audio box in control panels, the sound playback, and sound recording are grayed out, and when I try and fix it, it comes up with the message 'Class Not Registered'. Help would be very appreciated.(y)
     
  2. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    Have a look in the Device Manager and see if there is a yellow warning next to any of the devices.

    Click on Start > Control Panel > System > Hardware > Device Manager.
     
  3. Spyro9977

    Spyro9977 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I can't even open the Device Manager. I can get into System, Hardware. But I can't get into Device Manager because it says 'Class Not Registered'.
     
  4. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    Do you have a Windows XP disc and is all your important data backed up?
     
  5. Spyro9977

    Spyro9977 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    No, I don't have a Windows XP Disc, because I got it ages ago from my father. My data is backed up, but I don't have a hard drive.
     
  6. silvernoodles

    silvernoodles

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    There seems to be a serious issue. Can you try & repair your OS.
    Also as suggested by Mark1956, have your important data backed up.
     
  7. silvernoodles

    silvernoodles

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    6
  8. Spyro9977

    Spyro9977 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Sorry, but it doesn't work. How do I try and repair my OS?
     
  9. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    To repair the OS you need a copy of XP that is an exact match to your installed OS and at the same service pack level. Is there a sticker on the PC with the licence key on it?

    I would first try to use System Restore and see if that works, if not then you will have to borrow a copy of XP (they are no longer for sale).

    XP System Restore Guide

    I would also suggest running a test on the hard drive to make sure it is healthy. If a failing hard drive is the cause of the problem then it will need to be replaced before you can go any further and you will need a copy XP to reinstall the OS.

    Do you know if the hard drive has a Recovery partition?

     
  10. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO SUE

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,752
    If all else fails you can possibly contact compac and see if there is restore/recovery disks for that model of computer. In most cases they run about 30 dollars.And yes you can still find copies of windows xp on the internet. Just be careful who you buy them from though.
     
  11. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    As production of Windows XP was stopped in June 2008 finding a "legal" copy is extremely unlikely.

    If the hard drive on your PC is in its original state there should be a Recovery Partition on it, keep tapping the F10 key at boot up and see if you get the option to Restore to Factory Settings. Be aware this will wipe out everything on the drive. There is also a built in facility to create your own set of Recovery discs, see this guide for the details.

    http://h10010.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=us&dlc=en&docname=bph08097&lc=en&product=434655

    I would still advise you to complete a test on the hard drive before you go down this road. You may still be able to create the Recovery discs even if the Windows partition is showing faults. If the drive has to be replaced you will need those discs, as far as I can tell (without using the service tag number) HP no longer supply them. The other option is to clone the Recovery Partition onto a new drive.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1038754