Clean up your wiring mess

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Softies

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
11
I spent the weekend ( a few weeks ago ) cleaning up a huge wire mess. Over time I just let the rats nest get out of control.

For less then $400.00 I purchased some Leviton products and got the job done.

I documented the project on my blog..Photos, product#, etc.:
http://blog.techtipsradio.com/
 

Softies

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
11

Softies

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
11
In my case I needed:
the Leviton 42 inch enclosure
24-port structured media panel - used for ethernet and phone wiring.
Multi-media Adapter bracket ( part 47612mma ) I used to mount my router, nas device, cable modem, and misc devices..
8 way splitter from Control Cable for all my video runs. Both Sat. and cable tv.

This is all I had to buy to get my job done.

Do you have specific needs I could help you with? Are you planning a project? Give me an idea of your situation and I will see if I can help.

best wishes...
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
1,689
Oh. I see where we were getting mixed up.
I don't have any specific needs, I just wanted to see what equipment you had in there..
One thing that I need to eventually do is get some security cameras, and they need to be accessible from any place that has an internet connection, but I am still trying to figure out how to do that.
I was thinking about streaming them to a website and having a log in. I dont know. Any ideas?
 

Softies

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
11
A while back, I had a Dlink camera that had a web server ( so to speak ) built into it. It had pan, tilt, and zoom features. I just opened a port on my router and I could access it from anywhere...even a cell phone!

I am sure they have come along way since I played w/ one...I think it was around 300.00.

Regards..

E
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
1,689
That is kind of what I am looking for, but I need four. Is there a system that does something similar?
 

Softies

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
11
Dlink has software that will support upto 16 of those cameras
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
1,689
Thanks,
I will do some poking around and see what I can see.
Thanks again.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top