1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cleaning my android phone

Discussion in 'Android Mobile Devices' started by Beta19, May 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Beta19

Beta19 Thread Starter

First Name:
    Adam
    Do I need to clean my android phone like my computer? Like speed it up or clean up uninstalled program files? I'm new to the smartphone thing and don't know much about android. Thanks in advance.

2. TheNext

TheNext

You do not need to clean up program files or anything because what Android does is it stores all needed files for the instances apps in one folder in the root of the phone and when you delete an app, it will delete the program files that the app uses.

3. Beta19

Beta19 Thread Starter

First Name:
    Adam
    So all those cleaning apps are bs then?......what if my phone is running slow? I have moved as many apps to my SD card to try to free up memory and internal space, but occasionally my phone seems to be a little sluggish.......just curious.

4. TheNext

TheNext

A few things could weigh into your phone moving slow occasionally, the make and model of the phone, obviously some phones experience more lag than others, and sometimes how long the device is on without being turned off, if it's an LG, they add an Android feature that allows you just to hold the power button for like 8 sec and the phone that restarts, and if you go to settings->storage, you will see a category called "cache," clear that every once in a while, the cache is the temporary files that your phone creates...just tap cache and it will delete. Also, if you solely use data and don't often rely on WiFi, your phone also may be a little slower due to only having a restrictive internet connection.
    TheNext

5. Beta19

Beta19 Thread Starter