1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

clearing clipboard

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by rameam, Oct 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rameam

rameam Thread Starter

This may be a question most everyone knows, but I have never considered it before. I use the clipboard quite a lot, and it seems to use a lot of memory. I normally don't reuse anything I cut or copy, so I want to clear it. I have never done this before so don't know how or whether it can be done. Also, if I did want to go back and pick up something I put on the clipboard earlier, is that possible? Thanks to anyone who can help.

2. kiwiguy

kiwiguy

There are utilities out there that you can run, they allow clearing and saving of clipboard items.

Consider that the utility may be more of an overhead than an item on the clipboard though.

An easier way would be to simply copy a single character. It will replace whatever was on the clipboard and use almost no memory.

Items copied earlier are lost (they are not saved anywhere permanent) when a new item comes along, unless you are using the enhancement in later Microsoft Office versions where the last 20+ items are available.

3. Corrosive

Corrosive

Or, go into Start > Accessiories > System Tools > Clipboard Viewer. Then just hit Delete and that'll clear it.

4. rameam

rameam Thread Starter

My OS is ME. I don't seem to have clipboard viewer. Should I? How else can I bring it up? Thanks for your replies.

5. XL Guru

XL Guru

I don't know why they have to move these things around ; always use to be in Accessories. Mine's in c:\windows\system32, altho' ME might not have this, I dunno. Try a hard drive search for clip*.exe and drag a copy (CTRL) to your desktop.

HTH,
    Andy

6. rameam

rameam Thread Starter