1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

clicking does not open anything

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by muncher06232, Jan 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. muncher06232

    muncher06232 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    When I single click on an icon, link or picture it does not open. Doubleclicking does not word either. Single click worked yesterday. Doubleclick has not worked in some time. Checked control panel/mouse, test on the setting works. Mouse is working correctly.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) X2 Dual Core Processor 3250e, AMD64 Family 15 Model 107 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 1790 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics , 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 293332 MB, Free - 255317 MB; D: Total - 11809 MB, Free - 2124 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard , Capirona , PBDLL01MHYA1XQ
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    The settings for that are usually located in the Folder Options:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. muncher06232

    muncher06232 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    I did this but it did not work
     
  4. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    If you right click a shortcut, what item is shown in bold?
    If you right click a picture, what item is shown in bold?
    If you click items on the Start Menu do they open?
     
  5. muncher06232

    muncher06232 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    right click on shortcut or pic, gives a whole list with option on top to open. Start menu opens correctly
     
  6. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    Is Open in Bold? If you click Open does it open?
    What program do you use for pictures/mages, usually the top bolded item would be Preview.
     
  7. muncher06232

    muncher06232 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Open is not in bold.it will open the link, pic, etc when selected. This happens w/ an email, a pic on nother site (ie, facebook) It is constant not restricted to any pgm.
     
  8. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    Sounds like your file extensions have gotten corrupted.
    Go here:
    File association fixes for Windows 7
    and download the fix for LNK files, and for JPG (or whatever extension the images are).
    To extract the file from the ZIP archive, double click on the downloaded file to open it, then drag the enclosed file to your desktop.
    Double click the file to merge it into the registry.

    You may find the Unassoc program useful. It doesn't reset the system associations, just removes any User associations, usually added using the Open with dialog. If the wrong file is selected you can end up with symptoms like this. You'll only get the Remove option if a User association has been set.
    The download link is hard to spot, it's right under the word Attachments.
     
  9. muncher06232

    muncher06232 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    when trying to extract "C:\users\shelley\zip\link_fix_w7 - shortcut.lnk\"
    Use path: yes overlay files: no
    C:\users\shelley\zip\lnk_fix_w7.reg".
    file exists but isn't directory
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Try these fixes: LNKFix and JPGFix

    Save the files to your desktop first.

    Unzip the fixes and extract the .REG files to the Desktop. Right-click the .REG files and choose Merge. Note that you need to be an Administrator to apply this fix.

    Reboot the computer.

    If the fixes only open as text files, right-click them and select Open With > Choose Program... Then, select the Registry Editor.

    If the Registry Editor is not in the list, browse to C:\WINDOWS and select regedit
     
  11. muncher06232

    muncher06232 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    When I tried to extract jepg file it went on for over 30 min. and I stopped it. Error "Extracint to "C:\users\shelley\zip\jpeg_fix_w7\desktop\jpeg_fix_w7\new folder\jpeg_fix_w7\"
    Use path:yes Overlaly files:no
    Interrupted by user.

    I am not very familiar w/ using unzip so I'm sore I'm doing something wrong..
     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975258

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice