Clock Error

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,569
Please let us know how it goes when you can. :)
 

elsb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
175
Please let us know how it goes when you can. :)
Sad to say that replacing the battery in the motherboard did not help the clock error situation. I guess I'll have to try the system restore. Really have no idea what else to do. Arghhh!
 

elsb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
175
Good luck. :)
I tried the system restore. Tried 3 different dates. The error message was that the system cannot be restored to those dates. All the dates were viable ones - ie they were in bold on the calendar. I went back 4 weeks at first,, then 3 1;/2 and then 3 weeks. Not sure what to do. Any thoughts on why this is not working? THANK YOU!
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,569
At this point I'm out of ideas unfortunately. :(
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
25,577
Why not try another clock as I posted in post #5, replacing XP's wonky clock.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,862
On post 6 where you included your screenshot that states the date and time - what was the error in your date and time compared with the time shown.
I presume at this stage you will not know that detail, so when you reply please state
1. The date and time at your location
2. The date and time shown on your desktop taskbar
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
25,577
I found 2 possible reasons: the Daylight time is wrong in XP (there was a fix for this) or because XP only synchronizes every 7 days, you might want to force it to sync more often.

I am leaning towards a Daylight Savings Time issue.
This is probably the last Time Zone update and doesn't affect you in WI but it won't hurt to install it.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...-systems-0acd4e36-9248-89b9-63aa-e54ab7ae6b08

The US goes back on Standard Time at 2am on November 7th. You could wait and see if the clock fixes itself.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,862
Plodr
That is what I was thinking on the difference and why I asked for confirmation of both times
I will leave the issue with you
 
Last edited:

elsb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
175
Why not try another clock as I posted in post #5, replacing XP's wonky clock.
I just downloaded the atomic clock at worldtimserver.com. Will see if this fixes things. Will let you know. Thank you!
 

elsb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
175
I found 2 possible reasons: the Daylight time is wrong in XP (there was a fix for this) or because XP only synchronizes every 7 days, you might want to force it to sync more often.

I am leaning towards a Daylight Savings Time issue.
This is probably the last Time Zone update and doesn't affect you in WI but it won't hurt to install it.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...-systems-0acd4e36-9248-89b9-63aa-e54ab7ae6b08

The US goes back on Standard Time at 2am on November 7th. You could wait and see if the clock fixes itself.
Thanks. It's been going on over 2 weeks now. I will install that update. Hopefully something works.
 

elsb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
175
On post 6 where you included your screenshot that states the date and time - what was the error in your date and time compared with the time shown.
I presume at this stage you will not know that detail, so when you reply please state
1. The date and time at your location
2. The date and time shown on your desktop taskbar
1:50pm and 1:50pm. Oct 14 2021 It's been the same when I have checked it. Thanks!
 

elsb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
175
Thanks. It's been going on over 2 weeks now. I will install that update. Hopefully something works.
I didn't see a link in that post where you could install the update. Not sure if I'm just missing it?
 

elsb

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
175
I just downloaded the atomic clock at worldtimserver.com. Will see if this fixes things. Will let you know. Thank you!
The atomic clock did not do the trick. Still getting clock errors. So exasperating!
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,862
1. How are you connected and is it to a secure network
2. IF you are connected secure network and not using some open unsecure connection then follow as below IN the order shown.

  • Sometimes the third-party plugins to your browser you installed can create issues. Try disabling one by one and once you find out the plugin that is causing the issue, remove it.
  • Clear cache files and the browsing history on your Chrome browser. To do so, click the menu icon, go to History, and select “Clear browsing data.”
  • Delete your Chrome browser and re-install it. Sometimes, it solves the issue.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top