1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

clock will not stay set

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by burjap52, Feb 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. burjap52

    burjap52 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I've tried setting the clock by going into the control panel and setting it that way but it just will not stay set. Is there something I can try that might make it stay where I set it?
    Thanks for any help,
    Beth
     
  2. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    Did you click on Apply and OK after you change dthe clock? Have you tried letting he clock synchronise with Windows or time.nist under the Internet Time tab? If you did both of those, your internal CMOS battery may have failed.

    If this is a PC, you can easily find it when you open the case - it's a small flat disk on the motherboard and you need carefully to flip it out by pressing gently on the plastic clip, then take it to a shop to replace like with like. Before you open the case, remove the power cable and while working in there, try to keep one hand on a part of the bare metal of the casing.
     
  3. basics4u

    basics4u

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Yeah I get this too. I would have to adjust date & time several times a day. System is synchronized w/ times.windows.com & is checked to "automatically synchronize w/ an internet time server". I have not replaced the cmos battery but I do think this may be the cause. Can anyone pls. confirm this or is it another spyware/trojan deal.
     
  4. vicks

    vicks

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,124
    Laptops also have the CMOS battery about the size of a quarter. Refer to your manual as to location and how to access it. These batteries can be purchased in electronic departments of WalMarts, and many other stores...not very expensive, usually will last a long time.
    Vicks
     
  5. hanrickjones

    hanrickjones

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    as mentioned by basic4u its a issue with the cmos battery
    to elaborate a little bit
    there aer pannels at the bottom of the laptop that u can unscrew after u unscrew them u'll see somethin like a coin cell battery
    this battery is called as a cmos battery which stores all the info once this battery get week it will not be able to save the settings and as a result it will take ur date to factory date when this system was configured for that matter feb 1 2006 or whatever
    so if u get it replaced that will resolve ur issue any other help required let us know :)
     
  6. hanrickjones

    hanrickjones

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    sorry not by basics4u but vicks ;) apologize
     
  7. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791


    Did I forget to mention that? :D

     
  8. hanrickjones

    hanrickjones

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    dam my mistake i just read it till this point ;)
    Did you click on Apply and OK after you change dthe clock? Have you tried letting he clock synchronise with Windows or time.

    ok can u help me on my issues too :( no audio device is the name :( pls help if u can
     
  9. squall_01

    squall_01

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    479
    I had the same issue the other day, what I done was took out the cmos battery then put it back. Turned out it seemed to be my BIOS settings were off so it was setting to it I suppose.
     
  10. hanrickjones

    hanrickjones

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    44
  11. burjap52

    burjap52 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks guys for the help,yes I hit apply but that wasn't the problem. I'll check the battery and get back to you on if that fixes it. Again, thanks so much for the help!
    Beth
     
  12. vicks

    vicks

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,124
    Hanrickjones,
    I have seen laptops that you have to remove the ram then undo the solder to remove the cmos battery.

    Burjap52,
    I just realized that none of us have mentioned to you, to unplug from the a/c power and remove the battery before you start to disassemble the laptop.
    Good Luck
    Vicks
     
  13. squall_01

    squall_01

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    479
    actually, it seems that mine didnt stay set like it was suppose to. Those are probably solder tail 2032 an they come in a varity. I would have a tech shop do it. As for me not sure whats wrong with it.
     
  14. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    If a laptop doesn't have a hatch you can inscrew and easily find the CMOS battery, I recommend you don't touch it. Soldering a unit on to a laptop motherboard is difficult enough but it isn't as hard as melting the solder to get an old part off. You can melt the plastic or some other essential solder quite easily unless you're skilled with the iron, have good eyesight and a very steady hand.

    Try altering the time in BIOS first and see if that helps make the change stick.
     
  15. squall_01

    squall_01

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    479
    or an iron at all. Like I said I dont recommend doing it if that is the case.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/980866