1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Clock_Watchdog_timeout error on new Ryzen 1800X build

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by milomorai, Jun 20, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. milomorai

    milomorai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    439
    I have been fighting this for the last 6 months. I put together a Ryzen 1800X, 32GB G-Skill Trident Z DDR4 Pc 3200 Model F4-3200C 14D32GTZ, MSI X370 Gaming Carbon Pro MB, Seasonic 660XP 80 Plus Platinum PSU, Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVMe for my OS drive and a 2 TB SSD for storage with a MSI Radeon RX 550 Aero ITX OC 4GB graphics card. I have RMA'd all of the components except for the graphics card and even got a 500 GB SSD to try for my Os drive to no avail. I can't keep the system up for more than 30-45 minutes before it freezes. The PSU was swapped for another Platinum series that was a 90 Plus 650W one in a better line. I would put in the minidump file but the only way I can read it still shows it in machine language.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X Eight-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 23 Model 1 Stepping 1
    Processor Count: 16
    RAM: 32715 Mb
    Graphics Card: Radeon RX 550 Series, -1 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 465 GB (427 GB Free); D: 1863 GB (1623 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd., X370 GAMING PRO CARBON (MS-7A32)
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,289
    Attach the dump using upload a file button on the reply
    You cannot read dump files unless you have the means to do so
    Go to the dump file
    right click and hold mouse on send to
    choose compressed file on desktop
    send zipped file please

    Are you running that ram at 3200 or its SPD speed of 2133
    https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3200c14d-32gtz
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2018
  3. milomorai

    milomorai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    439
    I have tried it at both and 3200 and 2900 to no avail. It happened even when I was running it at 2133. The minidump file is now here
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,289
    The reason I ask is that AMD state that your processor has a max system ram speed of
    2667
    There are however reports on the web that it does not and can take far higher ram speeds
    IF IT CAN then AMD should get their site up to date
    https://www.amd.com/en/products/cpu/amd-ryzen-7-1800x

    AMD Ryzen™ 7 1800X
    System Memory
    Max System Memory Speed
    2667MHz
    System Memory Type
    DDR4
    Memory Channels
    2

    I will look at the dump. In the meantime I recommend you ask AMD to clarify this apparent anomaly between their site and the web reports, that it can take higher speeds and AMD have the reports say confirmed this. You may also usefully I think ask AMD for their opinion on your crashes. They show large memory corruption - however that does NOT mean it is necessarily ram.
     
  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,289
    1.There is something wrong
    The dump shows that two sticks of your ram are not recognised

    Unknown
    DIMM 0
    P0 CHANNEL A
    Unknown

    Unknown
    DIMM 1
    P0 CHANNEL A
    Unknown

    F4-3200C14-16GTZ
    DIMM 0
    P0 CHANNEL B
    Unknown

    Unknown
    DIMM 1
    P0 CHANNEL B
    Unknown

    F4-3200C14-16GTZ


    That MAY not be a very important detail but in all the dumps I have looked at I have never seen this before with that ram and this quality of build

    2. The dump is
    CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (101)
    An expected clock interrupt was not received on a secondary processor in an
    MP system within the allocated interval. This indicates that the specified
    processor is hung and not processing interrupts.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 000000000000000c, Clock interrupt time out interval in nominal clock ticks.
    Arg2: 0000000000000000, 0.
    Arg3: ffffd00075fe5180, The PRCB address of the hung processor.
    Arg4: 0000000000000006, 0.

    Without getting too technical, both from your point of view and indeed mine, as I am close to the limit of my knowledge here Parameter 4 indicates that it was Processor core 6 that had the problem.
    IT DOES NOT MEAN that the CPU is the cause merely that it was core 6 of your 8 cores that was dealing with the data.

    3. As a starting point please open task manager on processes tab and send me a screenshot IF
    conhost. exe is shown

    I need to have the CPU column included so if it is not click the view tab on task manager - select columns and click to check cpu

    4. What is on your drive lettered D
    as according to the dump
    \D:\Program Files (x86)\MSI\Command Center\ClockGen\NTIOLib_X64.sys
    \D:\Program Files (x86)\MSI\Command Center\CPU\NTIOLib_X64.sys
    \D:\Program Files (x86)\MSI\Command Center\DDR\NTIOLib_X64.sys
    \D:\Program Files (x86)\MSI\Command Center\SMBus\NTIOLib_X64.sys

    Those are and I would have expected to find those on C
     
  6. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,289
    It would be very helpful - I think - if you could list which drivers you refer to
     
  8. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    I just looked at all the loaded devices in the dump file and saw several dated 2015 of earlier but did not confirm any further. The best method for help is to do the following and then I can look them up quicker. Also as you might have noticed the dump was missing quite a bit of information so a full dump may be more helpful next time.

    List all Drivers
    http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/driverview.html
    1. Download the correct version for your computer (32 or 64 bit)
    2. Extract and Run the file
    3. Select View Menu and Check
    1. Mark Non-Microsoft Drivers
    2. Hide Microsoft Drivers
    3. Add Header Line To CVS/Tab-Delimited File
    4. Select Edit menu and choose Select All or use (Ctrl + A)
    5. Select File menu and choose Save Selected Items
    6. Save as Drivers or other known name
    7. Save As Type Comma-delimited text file (.csv)
    8. Compress the Drivers.csv file to a compressed Zip file
    9. Upload the file to your next reply
     
  9. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    I would normally advise updating the Bios, there were a lot of ram issues with Ryzen Cpus early on that were fixed with Bios updates, but only if you're sure the computer will not turn off while doing so.
     
  10. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,934
    I just checked the support page for that motherboard. There are a LOT of bios updates that address memory issues; some only 7 days after the previous bios. IMO this points at an inherent problem with the motherboard that the mfg is attempting to fix with updates.

    If it were me, the very first part I would replace would be the motherboard. IMO msi is a mid-level [at best] mfg. Go with either an Asus ROG board or an Asrock Taichi/Fatal1ty board. I have done ryzen builds with all three of those boards and they are bullet proof.

    To clear up some misconceptions regarding ram speed. The native speed for your ram is 2133 or 2933 [if using a second gen ryzen] The motherboard however will set a faster speed. As an example, I run a ryzen 1700X overclocked to 3.9gig. The ram speed is running @3050 [slight blck overclcock along with multi overclock]
    Running the ram at it's rated speed is not technically overclocking since you are only adjusting the multi/divider in the motherboard bios to achieve rated speed on the ram. Same thing with intels; the ram runs at 2133, 2400, or 2666 [if running the latest 8th gen cpu] Ram speed is then adjusted using either xmp or manually setting speed/timings/voltage.

    IF you want to attempt to update your bios to the latest one, that may fix your issue however I have my doubts. When you see bios updates attempting to fix memory problems released only days apart, that does not give me much confidence in the motherboard mfg.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2018
  11. milomorai

    milomorai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    439
    In order of the posts:
    I only have two sticks of ram 16 GB each in slot 2 and 4; I have tried the ram setting at 2133, 2933 and 3200 with the same result and per G-Skill that ram is this [Trident Z] F4-3200C14D-32GTZ DDR4-3200 (PC4-25600)
    32GB (16GBx2) CL 14-14-14-34 1.35 Volt. Just got done with trying it at 2667 14-16-16-16-34 and it only stayed up for <7 min. before freezing so that setting was the worst of all. I can get 25-35 min. when set to 2933-3200 before the timeout error. The last time I looked on the website the BIOS updates were all from 2017 and since I RMA'd the mobo mine is as of 3/2018 so it won't take any of the older ones. I am enclosing the driver file so you can look it over.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,289
    Are you going to respond to my last post please and according to your attachment You have
    COMODO
    AVG
    Malwarebytes
    Super Anti Spyware

    I recommend most strongly that you uninstall ALL of the above using the programs and features and then test the system with ONLY Windows Defender
     
    AmateurJohn likes this.
  13. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
  14. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Please provide the following report:

    http://filehippo.com/download_speccy

    1. File > Publish Snapshot. This saves your snapshot to their servers
    2. Copy and Paste the link to your next Reply
     
  15. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    I would also recommend that you uninstall the following programs and test. If no change then you can reinstall if you choose.

    AVG - https://www.avg.com/en-us/utilities
    Use only Windows Defender
    Comodo Backup
    Malwarebytes
    SUPERAntiSpyware
     
    AmateurJohn likes this.
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1211815

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice