1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

clocking question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by shinny1, Nov 19, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shinny1

    shinny1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2001
    Messages:
    88
    I want to over clock my amd k6 200 mhz. Can anybody tell me how and were I can do that?
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    You would probably need to change jumpers on your motherboard rather than bios changes.
    If you don't have good cooling I would forget it.
     
  3. shinny1

    shinny1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2001
    Messages:
    88
    how would you possition the jumpers?
     
  4. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    depends on the motherboard, your going to have to find a manual or jumper layout to know what to change

    It must be running a multiplier of 3 and a frontside bus or 66.67mhz, the next logical step would be a 75mhz frontside bus but not all motherboards will allow it.

    Sorry, I know very little about that chip
     
  5. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    gives us your motherboard info and we will find out.
     
  6. shinny1

    shinny1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2001
    Messages:
    88
    The mother board is a Biostar and the other stuff I found was on boot up in the corner ALi-154-2A5KIBO9C-00.
    And the Bios is an Award Modular Bios v.4.51pg Year is 1997
     
  7. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    see what I can find

    here is the biostar support page

    http://www.biostar-usa.com/Support/support.htm

    you would be looking for socket 7 motherboards.

    also check out the museum link too for manuals.

    couldn't find a motherboard model that matches your bios string so if you know the model of your motherboard, that would help.





    you can email biostar here [email protected]
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59042

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice