Cloning a dos drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bowenpc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
10
"XCOPY C:\*.* D: /s /e" will cloning like this copy hidden and system fills from the source disk. I was succsesful in coping the disk but it wont boot and I am wondering if hidden and system files were copied
I also tried adding the switchs /h /c /k /r showing as invalied switches
oh yeah this isn't a windows os Running dos-5
I have done this with success before with a disk running win98 using the command "xcopy 32 C:\*.* D:\ /s/h/e/c/k"

Can Anyone Help Me??????? :confused:
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
You will need to run SYS on the target disk to make it bootable since the copy will move the IO.SYS file which is pointed to by the boot code. Also don't forget to make it active.
 

bowenpc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
10
ok how do I run sys on the target disk. I guess I can use fdisk to make it active right! I have to admit, I am a little green when it comes to editing thhhings in dos but I think I can handle it with the propper guidance. :D
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Boot from a DOS floppy, and type in SYS d:, where d: is the drive letter of the drive you wish to make bootable.
 

bowenpc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
10
ok I copied the sys to the target drive
as for the comand line "Xcopy 32 C:\*.* D: /h/i/c/k/e/r/y/s"
The switches are all invalied except for /e/y and /s and the parameter 32 is not working either. so I am back to the same comand line as I used before
xcopy C:\*.* D:\ /e/y/s except for this time it didnt copy any files and the prompt reads " Reading source files....."
" C:\command.com "
"Access denied :
" 0 files Copied.
 

bowenpc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
10
Johnwill
I have reed several post that you have left discussing -fdsp Parameter
is this what I need to do?


Do I need to edit the command line and if so how do I do it???
Also thanks for all your help so far guys :)

i would really like to accomplish this task using the dos prompt instead of using a program like ghost. I know it can be done. It is becoming more of a challange for me than anything.
 

bowenpc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
10
Do you know why the switches /h/i/c/k/r are coming up as invalied switches.

also about running the sys on the target disk. should I do this before or after coping the disk. as for right now, I copied the sys to the target after I formated it, and now I cant copy any files from the source disk. It is coming up "access denied" :(
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
You can either format the tartget with the system option and then copy everything BAR the IO.SYS or copy all the files and then run SYS afgainst it. The important point is that the physical location of the IO.SYS on the disk must not be changed once the disk is made bootable/system disk.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2002
Messages
3,337
The reason 32 was reported as an invalid parameter is that you put a space between xcopy and 32...DOS does not accept spaces within commands. The correct command is XCOPY32
 

bowenpc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
10
ok that makes sence. Hell that is basic. I should have known better!! I will give it a shot. I can't believe I can't clone a 85 mb hard drive with succsess!!! You guys have been a big help! Thanks!!! If any of you have anymore input, it would be greatly accepted!!! Thanks
 

bowenpc

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
10
ok this is weired. xcopy32 worked thanks. thats not the weired part. I formated the target disk copied the source disk but when i ran sys from the source disk it said
"no system on default drive", command.com is on the source disk so I don't understand this. anyway the boot disk that I used to get a dos prompt is a home made win95 boot disk with several dos commands added. I changed to A:\ and ran sys to the target disk. it said that sys is not compatable with the version of dos or windows I am running. do I want to proceed. so I figured at this point I would try anything so I tyed y and the file was transfered. I made the target disk active and booted. I didn't think it would work but sure enough it did. my clone is working or at least it is booting. should I have any problems with the sys I ran on my target disk or should I go with it?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top