1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

clonning xp

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mzik, Jul 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mzik

mzik Thread Starter

Hi
    I'm a volunteer maintaining a pc classroom in an old man's club(I'm a retired pc tech)
    On the pc's there are games, office, av,etc'
    We got a couple of new pc's donated (with OEM XPhome installed on them, with their legal codes)
    Is it possible to clone the old pc's (which are not OEM)to the new ones and transfer their original code?

2. Tabvla

Tabvla

Which Operating Systems do you have on the "old" PC's?

3. mzik

mzik Thread Starter

on the old pc's i have xp pro corp

4. ozrom1e

ozrom1e

The answer is no you can not. Reason why = Windows will try to acclimate itself to the new computer and when it finds a new motherboard with new numbers for ID and other differences it will not function. You can only put the cloned as you call it back to the original computer.

5. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

It won't work, and it's not legal either. One copy, one license.

6. Tabvla

Tabvla

Mzik,

I think there may be a workable solution if you could explain in more detail what you are trying to achieve. Given the full facts either myself or another Forum member may be able to suggest a way forward.

With reference to Windows licensing there are important differences between OEM and Full Product licensing and the practical way in which you can install Windows.

1. Windows installed under an OEM license is permanently associated with that specific PC. When that PC comes to the end of its life the Windows OS also terminates. Under the OEM EULA you can change any component on an OEM PC except the MOBO. Microsoft consider that the MOBO is the PC.