Clunky flash

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JoeD.

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 1999
Messages
98
Money is not the problem. The problem is I don't like waste. To throw good things out that are still useable seems to be the American way anymore. All I use this computer for is doing some imaging work and some little gif animations. So far more adding ram has never let me down. I have 128MB now. This thing started out with 16MB!!! But every once in awhile some web site will be a big flash site or game and the graphics become clunky. I know this thing is getting a bit small if it has troubles running things over the web. I have a 233 mhz PII MMX with an 8MB Voodoo3 video card. I am wondering if I bought ram for this thing one more time say like 500MB more, would that be sufficient enough for the kind of things I do. Or would it be throwing money away? And would a say P4 2.4 be THAT much better? I have a cable connection too. Thanks in advanced.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
5,577
Adding that much more RAM would be somewhat pointless for that system, because then the CPU would be a major bottleneck. Not to mention the motherboard probably doesn't support that much RAM. If you were to get a new processor, whether it be a P4 or a P3, then you would also have to get a new motherboard, as your current one would not support anything other than a P2. And then, if you were to get a new motherboard, then chances are, you would have to get new RAM as well. So basically, you would be upgrading the entire system.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
The PC probably won't even support adding another 500MB of memory. My guess would be that it is using PC100 or 133 EDO memory. Upgrading to 500MB would also more than likely cost you more than upgrading to say and Athlon XP 1900 with 256MB of DDR memory. You can use your hard drives and video car and save a little money until you can upgrade at least the video card.
 

JoeD.

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 1999
Messages
98
I get sentemental. I'll hate to see her go. The stocks are on their way up now. It might be soon!!!!!!!!! Farewell old friend.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
5,577
You could always just use it as a backup rig or something...or as an experimental thing if you ever wanted to try overclocking or stuff like that.
 

JoeD.

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 1999
Messages
98
now you said it overclocking!!!!!!! where do i find out what's safe overclocking? and how to do it.
 

JoeD.

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 1999
Messages
98
naww justa little shouldn't hurt.. but thanks for the suggestions about experienting with the ol girl........ i've always wanted to have a smaller OS on it...... might be enuff speed there!!!!!! thanks again
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top