1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CMOS Checksum Bad

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by lhenr, Sep 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lhenr

    lhenr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    I am having a problem getting a computer to start up. When we turn it on, it will run throught the memory check and that is it. We cannot get to the Bios setup. Nor can we use the keyboard to type anything. The keyboard will not work. I have changed the CMOS battery and reset the CMOS jumper. Does anyone have amy ideas?

    Thanks
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    What happens if you unplug the keyboard....will it get further then?
     
  3. lhenr

    lhenr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Also, keyboard is plugged into right socket. Also tried using adapter to plug into usb port with no luck.
     
  4. lhenr

    lhenr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    We just unplugging the keyboard and restarting the keyboard to no avail.
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    :confused:

    Did you leave the keyboard unplugged and try it that way? With no keyboard attached?
     
  6. lhenr

    lhenr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Yes, it still came up with the same post "CMOS Checksum Bad"
    "Keyboard Error"
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Did you remember to put the jumper back on the right pin? Also disconnect hard drive and floppy drive and try to boot.
     
  8. lhenr

    lhenr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    O.K. I just tried that. This time I get a "CMOS Battery Low" message. I just changed the battery, though.
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    It is possible to get a new one that has been on the shelf too long. Can you access bios now?
     
  10. lhenr

    lhenr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    No, still unable to access bio. It is very possible that the batteries may be bad. I will try and get a new one right now. I will post again after I get back. Thanks
     
  11. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    Is this the result of a bad CMOS flash? If so you have to replace it. If not and resetting the BIOS to default dose not do it then your CMOS EPROM is bad, ether way you have to replace it.
     
  12. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    My experience has been that you don't need the battery even installed to be able to access the bios setup. I'm still thinking something else is wrong here. You might try reseating the ram and/or one chip at a time if there are more than one.
     
  13. lhenr

    lhenr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    O.K. just replaced the battery with a brand new one. No luck.
     
  14. lhenr

    lhenr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    jReseated the ram. Also no luck. I am close to giving up now.
     
  15. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    maybe the EPROM contact your motherboard manufacturer for a replacement.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165224

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice