1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cmos checksum error - default loaded

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dettro, Nov 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dettro

    dettro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    CMOS CHECKSUM ERROR - DEFAULT LOADED


    Every time I Start my PC i am gettin this error,, i have replaced the battery and stil the prob persists, even the time/date gets reset to 12.00AM ... please help
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Make sure the clear cmos jumper on the motherboard is
    set to the run or normal position,not the clear position.
     
  3. dettro

    dettro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    hi thanks for the response...

    I have not changed or in fact even touched these settings in the first place, when i logged in one day my computer clock was reset to manufacture date, then i thought it was a battery issue and replaced the battery (only) then i restarted and set the correct time and switched off the pc and switched it on again, but the system time got reset again , this is when i realised that something else was wrong (and not the CMOS battery).

    Today after i read ur thread I thought to clear CMOS by short circuiting the jumper pins (using a metal object for five seconds) . I did that and set the bios to load optimised defaults... stil same issue.... the battery is new as well.... my motherboard is the model shown below (http://www.gigabyte.com/search/search.aspx?kw=GA-G31M-ES2L+%28rev.+2.x%29)
    [​IMG]
    GA-G31M-ES2L

    I also did a bios update not knowing exactly what needs to be done,

    please advice
    Thanks again
    Dettro
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,139
    A checksum error is generated when the bios does not "See" the hardware it expects to see. It can be caused by a number of things;
    1 Unsupported cpu
    2 Failing cmos battery OR the battery does not fit correctly in the holder. Dirty contacts on the battery holder, etc
    3 Failing components on the mb

    Since it has been running and you have not changed any hardware, I would tend to think it is either reason 2 or 3.

    Get a bright light and carefully check the contacts in the battery holder. While you have the system open, check the mb itself for any leaking capacitors. If you find any that look like the pics below, you have found your problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. geek-assist

    geek-assist

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Hi there, don't know if you've checked this already, but hm...hope you have inserted the battery right..I mean the "+" has to point to a specific direction which is marked on the battery holder on the motherboard.
     
  6. dettro

    dettro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    thanks guys will chk and reply
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028002

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice